This is a digital copy of a book that was preserved for generations on library shelves before it was carefully scanned by Google as part of a project
to make the world’s books discoverable online.
It has survived long enough for the copyright to expire and the book to enter the public domain. A public domain book is one that was never subject
to copyright or whose legal copyright term has expired. Whether a book is in the public domain may vary country to country. Public domain books
are our gateways to the past, representing a wealth of history, culture and knowledge that’s often difficult to discover.
Marks, notations and other marginalia present in the original volume will appear in this file - a reminder of this book’s long journey from the
publisher to a library and finally to you.
Usage guidelines
Google is proud to partner with libraries to digitize public domain materials and make them widely accessible. Public domain books belong to the
public and we are merely their custodians. Nevertheless, this work is expensive, so in order to keep providing this resource, we have taken steps to
prevent abuse by commercial parties, including placing technical restrictions on automated querying.
We also ask that you:
+ Make non-commercial use of the files We designed Google Book Search for use by individuals, and we request that you use these files for
personal, non-commercial purposes.
+ Refrain from automated querying Do not send automated queries of any sort to Google’s system: If you are conducting research on machine
translation, optical character recognition or other areas where access to a large amount of text is helpful, please contact us. We encourage the
use of public domain materials for these purposes and may be able to help.
+ Maintain attribution The Google “watermark” you see on each file is essential for informing people about this project and helping them find
additional materials through Google Book Search. Please do not remove it.
+ Keep it legal Whatever your use, remember that you are responsible for ensuring that what you are doing is legal. Do not assume that just
because we believe a book is in the public domain for users in the United States, that the work is also in the public domain for users in other
countries. Whether a book is still in copyright varies from country to country, and we can’t offer guidance on whether any specific use of
any specific book is allowed. Please do not assume that a book’s appearance in Google Book Search means it can be used in any manner
anywhere in the world. Copyright infringement liability can be quite severe.
About Google Book Search
Google’s mission is to organize the world’s information and to make it universally accessible and useful. Google Book Search helps readers
discover the world’s books while helping authors and publishers reach new audiences. You can search through the full text of this book on the web
at http://books.google.com/
from the library of
ROBERT and MARJORIE
GRAFF
LF 2 oO
By JOHN T. FARIS
OLD ROADS
OUT OF PHILADELPHIA
117 ILLUSTRATIONS AND A MAP
DECORATED CLOTH, OCTAVO, $4.00 NET
‘The roads out of
in
Bock patna be Thee Battle of B.
are the most historic
wine, Valley Forge and Militia Hill
fascination of the roads
from
the
The author
ten of these hi
ways
ts the past and
8
be prot
t of
°
The West
Road, The Old York Road, and The Bristol Turn-
use illustrations and a stimulating text
make the book prise foc the walker, the auto-
THE ROMANCE
OF OLD PHILADELPHIA
IN PREPARATION
UNIFORM WITH THE ABOVE
-
en
~“t
aes
RE ~
t
hb
Lf
ay
oF
ro
| Phe
Gf
HI
%
bh
»
‘
\ Ls
oe
‘ weet
yy
a”
Be
-
word
5
A iad
57
‘shat
-
\ ra
*
‘s
e~
‘
r4
Sm
|
£y
E>
g
«a @
‘"
“ ted
oe
“¢4
+"
if
~
i
- Se ry
THE VIRGIN ISLANDS
OUR NEW POSSESSIONS
AND THE BRITISH ISLANDS
BY
THEODOOR DE BOOY
AND
JOHN T. FARIS
AUTHOR OF “OLD ROADS OUT OF PHILADELPHIA,” “REAL STORISS FROM OUR
HISTORY,” “MAKERS OF OUR HISTORY,” ETC
WITH 97 ILLUSTRATIONS AND 5 MAPS
ESPECIALLY PREPARED FOR THIS VOLUME
cen
. Q27
Panoramic View From St. Joun or Jost Van Dyke
anp Tortoua Isuanps (BRITISH)................ 282
Bays on Norra Coast or St. Joun, with THatcu
IsLanpD AND Jost Van Dyke (BaririsH) in Distance 288
18
ILLUSTRATIONS
Tue Barrma Isitanp or Torrous, From St. JoHN... 242
Torn-our with Native DRIVER..............002005 248
Norra Coast or St. THomas, wirn TxHarcu Istanp
AND Brrrwe Isuanps or Tosaco ann LITTLE
TosaGo IN DIBTANCB............0.cc cee ceccees 28
BLvuesearp’s Castte at Tor or Lucuern’s Huu, .
CHARLOTTE-AMALIA, St. THOMAS...............5 248
Tue Barracks, CHARLOTTE-AMALIA................. 248 °
In Toe Marker Puace, CHARLOTTE-AMALIA......... 249
GovERNOR’s Resmence oN GoOvERNMENT Hnm1,
CHARLOTTE-AMALIA ......... 0. ccc cee cece ceees 252
Granp Hotei, CHARLOTTE-AMALIA.............0000. 253
Tue Mar Srreet, CHARLOTTE-AMALIA............. 260
A Buasrness Street mn CHARLOTTE-AMALIA.......... 261
On THE SHORE, CHARLOTTE-AMALIA................. 266
U. S. S. “Trasca,” ON THE FLoatine Docs, St. Toomas 267
Street mv Front or GovERNMENT House, CHARLOTTE-
Water Front EnrraNnce To CHristian’s Fort, aND
Batcony or REsipENcs IN THE Fort, CHARLOTTE-
AMALIA... 0... ccc ccc ccc ccc cet e reese ceseens 272
Roap in Front or Cuaistian’s Fort anp Typican
St. THomas Cap, CHARLOTTE-AMALIA........... 273
CovrontaL Bank and Marin Sreeer, CHaARLorre-
AMALIA... cc ccc ccc cc cee reece cence ee cecees 2738
Tue Marker Prace, CHARLOTTE-AMALIA... ........ 276
MAPS
FACING PAGE
Toe West INDIES................ cc cece eceeceaes 15-
Tae Vimain ISuanDs............ ccc ccc c cece cc eees 85
Sr. THOMAS........ 00. c ccc ccc cece cee cece cceeccees 47
Sr. JOHN... 00. ccc ccc cece eee c ces eceevenes 185
THE VIRGIN ISLANDS
Porto Rico, and a new nation, the Republic of
Cuba, was created. By the ceding of its American
colonial possessions, Spain was eliminated as a
European nation holding colonies in the American
hemisphere.
On March 31, 1917, the United States took
formal possession of the Danish West Indies, by
far the larger portion of the Virgin Islands. The
history of the sale and the transfer of these islands
is somewhat involved.
During the Civil War in the United States the
lack of a naval station in the West Indies was a
serious hindrance to those who sought to prevent
the blockade-running of the Southern States.
Consequently, on the conclusion of the war,
American diplomats sought to secure a stronghold
in the Caribbean. The Danish West Indies were
chosen as a likely spot, partly because it was felt
that Denmark—owing to the reverses which this
small nation had undergone, and the losses which
she had suffered in her war with Prussia—might
be induced to welcome the sale with open arms.
Mr. Seward, who was then Secretary of State of
the United States, secured a preliminary survey
of the islands in 1866. After a personal visit he
16 ,
FROM DENMARK TO UNITED STATES
seemed more determined than ever to obtain
St. Thomas and St. John for the United States,
and he was prepared to pay for these islands
$5,000,000. St. Croix was regarded as a separate
venture, and was offered for a like amount, on
condition that the government of France, which
might obfect to the sale owing to the conditions
of a treaty made in 1738, should allow the
transfer to take place.
At last, in October 1867, a treaty was concluded
for the purchase of St. Thomas and St. John for
$7,500,000, subject to the consent of both the
Danish Landsthing (Senate) and the Senate of the
United States. A popular vote was taken on the
islands to see if the inhabitants were desirous of
transferring their allegiance to a new flag. When
the returns were counted the inhabitants, by the
practically unanimous vote of 1244 to 22, showed
their approval of the proposed transfer. The
Danish Parliament then consented to the treaty,
and nothing was required to complete the sale
but a ratification by the United States Senate.
In fact, the proposed sale seemed so certain
that on November 27, 1867, the following royal
proclamation appeared in the St. Thomas “Tid-
2 17
THE VIRGIN ISLANDS
ende,” the paper which published the. official
government notices:
We, CuristiaN THs Nintua,
By the Grace of God, King of Denmark, the Van-
dals and the Goths, Duke of Sleswig, Holstein, Storn-
marn, Ditmarsh, Lauenborg and Oldenborg. Send to
Our beloved and faithful Subjects in the Islands of
St. Thomas and St. John Our Royal Greeting.
We have resolved to cede Our Islands of St. Thomas
and St. John to the United States of America, and We
have to that end, with the reservation of the consti-
tutional consent of Our Rigsdag, concluded a conven-
tion with the President of the United States. We have,
by embodying in that convention explicit and precise
provisions, done Our utmost to secure to You protec-
tion in Your liberty, Your religion, Your property and
private rights, and You shall be free to remain where
you now reside, or to remain, retaining the property
which You possess in the said Islands or disposing
thereof and removing the proceeds wherever You
please, without Your being subjected on this account
to any contribution, charge, or tax whatever.
Those who shall prefer to remain in the Islands,
may either retain the title and the rights of their natural
allegiance or acquire those of Citizens of the United
States, but they shall make their choice within two
18
FROM DENMARK TO UNITED STATES
years from the date of the exchange of ratifications of
said convention, and those who shall remain on the
Islands after the expiration of that term without having
declared their intention to retain their natural allegi-
ance, shall be considered to have chosen to become
citizens of the United States.
As We, however, will not exercise any constraint over
Our faithful subjects, We will give You the opportunity
of freely and extensively expressing your wishes in regard
to this cession, and We have to that effect given the nec-
essary instructions to Our Commissioners Extraordinary.
With sincere sorrow do we look forward to the
severing of those ties which for many years have united
You to Us, and never forgetting those many demon-
strations of loyalty and affection We have received
from You, We trust that nothing has been neglected
on Our side to secure the future welfare of Our beloved
and faithful Subjects, and that a mighty impulse, both
moral and material, will be given to the happy develop-
ment of the Islands, under the new Sovereignty.
Commending you to God!
Given at Our Palace of Amalienborg, the 25th
October 1867,
Under Our Royal Hand and Seal.
Curistiran R.
L. S.
Royal Proclamation to the Inhabitants of
St. Thomas and St. John.
19
THE VIRGIN ISLANDS
But the treaty was deliberately pigeon-holed
in the Senate, owing to internal dissent for which
Senator Charles Sumner was principally respon-
sible, probably at least in part, because of his
personal enmity towards President Johnson. Den-
mark granted an extension of time for the ratifi-
cation of the sale, but the matter was not again
taken up, despite the efforts of Secretary Seward
and of his successor, Secretary Fish. Finally, on
April 14, 1870, the proposed treaty lapsed
automatically.
The Danish king made a dignified proclamation
announcing that the sale of the islands had fallen
through:
We, CHRIstTIAN THE Ninta,
By the grace of God, King of Denmark, the Van-
dals and the Goths, Duke of Sleswig, Holstein, Storn-
marn, Ditmarsh, Lauenborg and Oldenborg, send to
Our beloved and faithful subjects in the Islands of St.
Thomas and St. John, Our Royal Greeting.
You are aware of the motives that actuated Us
at the time to give ear to the repeated and urgent
requests of the North American Government for the
cession of St. Thomas and St. John to the United States.
We expected that We, in that manner, should have
20
FROM DENMARK TO UNITED STATES
been able to lighten Our realm of the heavy burdens
incurred by the then recently terminated war, and We
hoped that the annexation to the United States would
have afforded the islands advantages so important that
they could have contributed to soothe the pain which
a separation necessarily must cause in the Colonies,
no less than in the Mother Country. You, for your
part, and the Danish Diet, on the part of the King-
dom, have concurred in these views, and We all met
in the mutual readiness to accommodate ourselves
to what appeared to Us to be recommended by the
circumstances.
Unexpected obstacles have arisen to the realization
of this idea, and released Us from Our pledged word.
The American Senate has not shown itself willing to
maintain the treaty made, although the initiative for
it proceeded from the United States themselves. Ready
as We were to subdue the feelings of Our heart, when
We thought that duty bade Us so to do, yet We cannot
otherwise than feel a satisfaction that circumstances
have relieved Us from making a sacrifice which, not-
withstanding the advantages held out, would always
have been painful to Us. We are convinced that You
share these sentiments and that it is with a lightened
heart You are relieved from the consent, which only
at Our request you gave toa separation of the islands
from the Danish crown.
21
THE VIRGIN ISLANDS
In, therefore, making known to you that the Con-
vention made on the 24th of October, 1867, for the
cession of the Islands of St. Thomas and St. John. to
the United States of America, has become void, We
entertain the firm belief that Our Government, sup-
ported by your own active endeavors will succeed in
promoting the interest of the islands and by degrees
efface all remembrances of the misfortunes which, of
late years, have so sadly befallen the islands. To this
end We pray Almighty God to give Us strength and
wisdom.
Commending You to God!
Done at Our Palace at Amalienborg, the 7th May,
1870.
Cuaristian R.
L. S.
A writer in the “Review of Reviews,” refer-
ring to the disappointing failure of 1867, said:
‘If we had purchased the islands at that time,
our influence in the West Indies would have grown
in such a way that it is reasonable to believe that
we.could subsequently have purchased Cuba from
Spain, and thus averted two or three wars, and
much misery.”
Not until after the Spanish-American war was
the purchase of these islands again seriously con-
22
FROM DENMARK TO UNITED STATES
sidered. Once more the United States had felt
the need of a naval station in the Caribbean.
Consequently, another treaty was negotiated, in
January, 190%. Owing to the efforts of President
Roosevelt and Secretary of State John Hay, this
treaty was promptly ratified by the United States
Senate. The Folkething (Lower House) of Den-
mark readily gave its consent to the proposed sale
of the islands for $5,000,000, but the Upper House
of the Danish Parliament failed to vote in favor of
confirmation. It has generally been thought that
German influence was responsible for the failure
to sanction this treaty. Possibly the German
government itself hoped, at some time or other, to
obtain a foothold in the West Indies.
While there were in 1911 and 1912 attempts
to renew interest in the purchase, nothing came
’ of these. Not until the latter part of 1916 was
another determined effort made to induce the
_ Danes to cede the islands. For the three principal
islands and their outlying cays $25,000,000 was
offered. A popular vote of the Danish people
was taken in December, to see if it was their wish
to give up Denmark’s only tropical colony. As
the cost of governing these islands had become
23
THE VIRGIN ISLANDS
far greater than the revenues derived from them,
and as the Danes were forced to admit that the
inhabitants of the Dutch West Indies were them-
selves greatly in favor of the transfer, 283,000
voted for the ratification of the treaty while
157,000 were opposed to the sale. This favorable
vote was hailed with great joy in St. Thomas and
St. Croix.
The islands finally came into the possession
of the United States on January 17, 1917, when
Secretary of State Lansing and Minister Brun of
Denmark signed the ratification of the treaty of
cession.
In this ratification it was stipulated that the
islands would be taken over within ninety days.
The final act was staged on March 81, 1917, when
the Dannebrog (the official name of the Danish
flag) was replaced by the Stars and Stripes. It
was the original intention that this change of flags
should take place with great ceremony, but the
exigencies of the international situation, and the
fact that the break of the United States with
Germany had just taken place, made a popular
demonstration inadvisable, and the plans made
by the Assistant Secretary of the Navy to assist
aA
a oe
x. =
.
ees
4.
. -
~;
te
2 8
es
Bs
P.
hh
ees
5B 2
pri
a 2
way,
cx
|
vs
oa
(ey
Ly
~
| =
bn
+
a *%
VYIVWNV-3LLOTEVHO ‘SdOOI8 GNVISI-HSZINI 40 ONIGNVI GEHL BO HOOT
FROM DENMARK TO UNITED STATES
in the celebration with part of the United States
Atlantic Squadron were cancelled. But, in spite
of the comparative lack of ceremony, the lowering
of the Dannebrog and the hoisting in its stead of
the Stars and Stripes was an impressive event, an
event which every thinking American should
regard with pride. Once again the adherents of
the Monroe Doctrine rejoiced in the acquisition
of additional territory, needed to promote the peace
of the world, and one more European nationality
ceased to be represented in the complex political
scheme of the Antilles.
While the transfer of the islands was not viewed
with universal joy by their inhabitants, it can be
said safely that fully ninety per cent. of the natives
were only too glad to be adopted by the American
government. They were not dissatisfied by the
treatment that had been accorded them under
Danish rule, for the government by the Danish
officials had been benevolent and paternal; but
Denmark was far away, and—especially in the
last three years when regular communication with
Europe was hard to maintain—a long time was
required to consult the home government on
matters of importance, and to bring about neces-
25
THE VIRGIN ISLANDS
sary improvements in local affairs. They felt that
under the rule of the United States any public
business could be attended to speedily. Further-
more, practically all the commerce of St. Thomas
was with the United States, and the imports from
the mother country were but a negligible item.
The St. Thomians were more used to American
customs and manners than they were to those of
Denmark, owing to the frequent visits of American
ships to the shores of the island. In St. Croix,
also, it was felt that adoption by the United States
would give a new impetus to the sugar industry,
that there would be a new development of all her
latent resources, and that there would be an outlet
to Porto Rico for her surplus population.
It was of course a sad thing for the Danish
government to view the lowering of the Dannebrog
which, with but two short intervals in the nine-
teenth century, had proudly waved for two and
one-half centuries over the little group of islands.
Yet it was the wish of Denmark not to stand in
the way of the prosperity of its colonial dependents.
While there will undoubtedly be a few who will
regard with disfavor the innovations that will
be introduced by the United States, the majority
26
FROM DENMARK TO UNITED STATES ,
will be grateful that the uncertainty which began
in 1866 and lasted until 1917, is now ended for
all time.
It was left to the present inhabitants of the
islands to decide whether or not they wished to
become citizens of the United States. Those who,
within one year of the date of transfer, should
signify their desire to do so, would remain subjects
of the Danish King. All others would automatic-
ally become citizens of the United States, having
all the rights and privileges of this status.
According to the National Geographic Society
of Washington, the total area of the three principal
islands acquired by the United States is 182.47
square miles. With the cays and rocks that form
part of the group, the area might possibly be as
much as 150 square miles. The population has
‘been variously stated as being from 30,000 to
83,000, of whom about ten per cent. are white.
A study of earlier statistics shows that the popu-
lation has decreased greatly during the century.
In 1828 there were 46,000 inhabitants, but by
1841 this total had dropped to 41,000.
Because of their situation, the islands are the
logical distributing center for goods destined for
27
THE VIRGIN ISLANDS
the Lesser Antilles and they have long been a
shipping point of some importance. In the days
before the European war, a number of Inter-
Colonial steamers called at the ports of St. Thomas
and St. Croix and connected the towns of these
islands not only with the Leeward Islands but
also with Porto Rico, Santo Domingo, Hayti, Cuba
and Jamaica.
That this value of the islands as a shipping
center was well realized when their purchase was
considered, is shown by the report of Secretary
of State Lansing, transmitted to Congress on
January 22, 1917. In this report he said:
“The commercial value of the islands cannot
be doubted. Lying in close proximity to many of
the passages into the Caribbean Sea, the use of
St. Thomas harbor as a stopping station for
merchant ships plying between the United States
and South America, and for vessels in other trades,
is of great importance.”
Though the United States took over the islands
at a cost of about three hundred dollars per acre,
there is no doubt that, from all poimts of view
their value is incalculable. It is more than prob-
able that the revenues derived from them will
2
FROM DENMARK TO UNITED STATES
suffice to pay the cost of their government, and
none of these revenues are to be expended upon
matters not directly related to the local govern-
ment. The act providing for the temporary gov-
ernment specifically. states that debts and taxes
collected on the Virgin Islands of the United States
shall not be placed in the treasury of the United
States, but shall be used and expended for the
government and benefit of the islands.
The government of the islands will not be
expensive. The form has already been fixed. In
the language of “an act to provide temporary
government for the West Indian Islands acquired
by the United States from Denmark,” “all mili-
tary, civil and judicial powers . . . shall be vested
in a governor and in such person or persons as
the President may appoint and shall be exercised
in such manner as the President shall direct until
Congress shall provide for the government of said
islands.” The governor, who may be an officer
’ of the army or navy, is appointed by the Presi-
dent, subject to senatorial confirmation. The
first governor appointed was an officer of the navy,
Rear Admiral James H. Oliver.
Election laws and local laws are to remain in
29
THE VIRGIN ISLANDS
effect and are to be administered by the local
tribunals. Judicial tribunals have their jurisdic-
tion extended to cases in which the United States
or a citizen is a party.
Under the new customs regulations, no duty
is charged on articles coming into the United States
from the islands, providing they are native prod-
ucts or do not contain more than twenty per cent.
of foreign materials. All other articles pay the
same duty as imports from foreign countries.
Sugar pays an export duty of eight dollars per
ton, regardless of its ultimate destination. .
The elimination of the Danish nation as a
power in the Antilles left the flags of but three
European nations in the Caribbean: those of |
Great Britain, of France and of the Netherlands.
It is not inconceivable that Great Britain, at
some future time, may be induced to cede to the
United States some of her islands in the Caribbean.
The Bahamas, for instance, are to-day in very
much the same position as were the Danish islands
during the twenty years before the transfer. They
depend upon the United States for the majority
of their imports and for a market for their exports.
The tourist resort of Nassau, on the Island of New
30
«
3
*i
--
\
Q
= 4
i te
-*
COWELL’S BATTERY AND ENTRANCE OF 8T. THOMAS HARBOR
Ll oe]
~
vat
Ae ©
——— «8
*?
65
| »
r->
=r
yes
-
tt
iit
‘A
=.
yi
ape
a6
|
— om
e~
if
CHRISTIAN’S FORT AND THE HARBOR FROM GOVERNMENT HILL
CHARLOTTE- AMALIA
“
-?
—
~~
th
ee
ean
2 a
+
i
—
§ i
PY.
\
au
—
7
>
—
.
“=
CHRISTIAN’S FORT FROM THE HARBOR, CHARLOTTE-AMALIA, 8T. THOMAS
=
t
oe |
=—
—
— —
a
—-
=
—
i
emt
=
<_“~
———
~— ==
———
~e
=
DANISH CRUISER “VALKYRIEN”
IN 8ST.
THOMAS HARBOR
FROM DENMARK TO UNITED STATES
Providence, is visited almost exclusively by Ameri-
cans and would lose its only claim to importance
if the revenue from this source were cut off. This
condition is well appreciated by the Bahamians
themselves; they would, in all probability, welcome
adoption by the United States, for their fruits
would find a duty-free market and thus the one
agricultural possibility of the islands would be
given an encouraging impetus. Jamaica, while
having more intercourse with Great Britain, prac-
tically depends upon the United States for the
sale of her entire banana crop; where one steamer
communicates with England, ten seek the nearer
ports of the North American continent. It must
be understood, however, that the sale of any of
the British West Indies is but a remote possibility,
although within the bounds of probability.
A far more probable purchase would be that
of the Dutch islands of the West Indies. The pos-
sessions of the Netherlands in the Caribbean are a
loss to the government and a menace to the mother
country. In the event of war between the United
States and one of the larger European nations, the
first hostile act on the part of the latter might
well prove to be the violation of Dutch neutrality
31
THE VIRGIN ISLANDS
by the seizure of the island of Curacao, which
possesses an excellent naval station and a well
protected harbor. Such seizure would be a serious
menace to the safety of the Panama Canal, and
there might be far-reaching consequences. If, on
the other hand, the United States had Curacao
in its possession, the approach to the Panama
Canal, by way of the southern channels of the
Lesser Antilles, would be safeguarded. This also
applies to the Dutch islands of St. Martin, Saba,
and St. Eustatius in the northern group of the
Leeward Islands; should these come under the
United States flag, the entire range of islands from
the Florida coast to the mainland of South America
would be dominated by the American navy.
A glance at the map of the Caribbean will
reveal the truth of this statement. The Guan-
tanamo naval base on the southern coast of the
eastern part of Cuba can control not only the
Florida Straits, between Florida and Cuba, but
also the Windward Passage between Cuba and
Hayti: A fleet stationed at Culebra Island and
at St. Thomas could give battle to any squadron
that should try to force its way through the Mona
Passage, between Santo Domingo and Porto Rico,
32
FROM DENMARK TO UNITED STATES
or through the Virgin Passage, separating Porto
Rico from the Virgin Islands. This same fleet
would also be in a position to protect the passages
due east from the Island of St. John.
From the Island of Barbuda to the Island of
Trinidad, however, can be found some twelve deep
water channels, which, in the event of war with
a maritime nation, would require a patrol fleet of
almost prohibitive size to give warning of the
approach of a hostile fleet.
If, therefore, the United States can prevail
upon the Dutch government to sell her West Indian
possessions, not only would the sale be to the
advantage of Holland, since it would relieve her
of her unproductive colonies in the Caribbean,
and would remove the menace of having these
colonies seized by a European nation, but also the
strategic importance of the naval station to be
established by the United States on the former
Danish West Indies would be materially increased.
A chain of defenses could thus be thrown around
the Panama Canal that would afford complete
protection from all the Atlantic approaches.
CHAPTER. II
GLIMPSES OF FOUR HUNDRED YEARS
THE STORY TOLD BY OLD POTTERY—THE NAMING OF THE
ISLANDS—NATIVES ATTACK THE SOLDIERS OF COLUMBUS
—EXTERMINATION OF THE NATIVES AND THE COMING OF
EUROPEANS—THE EMANCIPATION OF THE SLAVES .
HE story of the Virgin Islands of the
United States may be told in three
parts. First comes their record until
their settlement by European natives in the seven-
teenth century. Next is the period of European
settlement, until 1788, when, on the purchase of
St. Croix from France, the three islands were
joined under one government. From that date
the history of the islands can be described as a
whole.
Before the discovery of the Virgin Island group
by Columbus, these islands. were inhabited by
@ warrior nation of aborigines. The Museum of |
the American Indian, Heye Foundation, of New
York City, was the first institution to devote itself
to an archeological survey of the three islands
under discussion. This museum has devoted a
_ large amount of its energy to furthering archeo-
logical work in the West Indies.
34
GLIMPSES OF FOUR HUNDRED YEARS
‘It was found necessary to gather some data
and pre-Columbian specimens from St. Thomas,
St. John and St. Croix, in order to enable students
of the pre-Columbian occupation of the Antilles
to make a comparative study of the remains of
the primitive races that at one time inhabited this
region. The researches proved that they had been
inhabited by tribes that made long voyages for
purposes of trading, or for purposes of warfare,
practically throughout the West Indies.
. In the excavations conducted by the museum
expedition, the finding of some of the so-called
**collarstones” proved that voyages to Porto Rico
were undertaken, for these highly ornamented stone
objects up to the present time have been found only
on Porto Rico and Santo Domingo, and assuredly
could not have belonged to the low cultural devel-
opment that must have existed on both St. Thomas
and St. Croix. The presence of a grotesquely
carved “‘swallowing-stick” in the aboriginal de-
posits suggested a communication with Santo
Domingo, where the native priests used sticks of
this character in their ceremonies.
That voyages were possibly undertaken even to
Jamaica, was suggested by the finding in an aborig-
35
THE VIRGIN ISLANDS
inal deposit on St. Croix of a cylindrical stone
ornament, specimens of this kind being more
typical of Jamaican culture than of the culture of
the other Antillean islands. Again, some painted
postsherds typical of the South American cultural
area proved that pre-Columbian communication
had been held between St. Croix and either Trini-
dad or the northern coast of Venezuela.
It is hardly likely that the tribes inhabiting
St. Thomas and St. Croix made these voyages for
purposes of barter or of peaceful intercourse.
Probably they undertook extensive voyages in
order to wage war upon the more peaceful Arawak
tribes who inhabited the other Antillean islands,
and the specimens found must have been secured
by force of arms rather than by trading.
If the intercourse with the islands to the west
had been of a peaceful nature, it is probable that
the Indians would have adopted some of the
technique of the potter’s art from their neighbors.
As it is, the pottery from St. Thomas and St.
Croix—and the Museum of the American Indian,
Heye Foundation, has some six thousand specimens
in all from these islands—bears not the slightest
resemblance to the pottery of Jamaica, Porto Rico,
36
GLIMPSES OF FOUR HUNDRED YEARS
Santo Domingo or Cuba. It is, in fact, the crudest
pottery from the West Indies and of a kind typical
of a nation of pirates and warriors, who found no
leisure to devote themselves to an attempt at
ornamentation of their household utensils.
There is another way of deciding that the
Indians who originally inhabited St. Thomas must
have been not only warriors but of the same race
as those on St. Croix, for the St. Thomas pottery
shows an absolute resemblance to the specimens
from St. Croix, and history says that the St. Croix
Indians were warriors. Columbus found them so,
to his sorrow, for when he sent soldiers ashore for
purposes of exploration the Indians attempted to
repel the visitors by force.
When Columbus was on his second voyage of
discovery, in 1498, he came to the island of St.
Croix, after first touching at a number of the
Leeward Islands. The story of the visit, as told
by Washington Irving, after an examination of
the letters and diaries of Columbus, is full of
interest: .
“The weather proving boisterous, he anchored
on the 14th [of November] at an island called
Ayay by the Indians, but to which he gave the
37
THE VIRGIN ISLANDS
name of Santa Cruz. A boat well manned was
sent on shore to get water and procure informa-
tion. They found a village, deserted by the men;
but secured a few women and boys, most of them
captives from other islands. They soon had an
instance of Carib courage and ferocity. While at
the village they beheld a canoe from a distant part
of the island come around a point of land, and
arrive in view of the ships. The Indians in the
canoe, two of whom were females, remained gazing
in mute amazement at the ships, and were so
entranced that the boat stole close upon them
before they perceived it. Seizing their paddles
they attempted to escape, but the boat being
between them and the land, cut off their retreat.
They now caught up their bows and arrows, and
plied them with amazing vigor and rapidity. The
Spaniards covered themselves with their bucklers,
but two of them were quickly wounded. The
women fought as fiercely as the men, and one of
them sent an arrow with such force that it passed
through and through a buckler.
“The Spaniards now ran their boat against the
canoe, and overturned it; some of the savages got
upon sunken rocks, others discharged their arrows
88
GLIMPSES OF FOUR HUNDRED YEARS
while swimming, as dexterously as though they
had been upon firm land. It was with the utmost
difficulty they could be overcome and taken: one
of them who had been transfixed with a lance,
died soon after being brought aboard the ships.
One of the women, from the obedience and defer-
ence paid to her, appeared to be their queen.
She was accompanied by her son, a young man
strongly made, with a frowning brow and lion’s
face. He had been wounded in the conflict. The
hair of these savages was long and coarse, their
eyes were encircled with paint, so as to give them
a hideous expression; and bands of cotton were
bound firmly above and below the muscular parts
of the arms and legs, so as to cause them to swell
to a disproportioned size; a custom prevalent
among various tribes of the New World. Though
captives in chains, and in the power of their
enemies, they still retained a frowning brow and
an air of defiance. Peter Martyr, who often went
to see them in Spain, declares, from. his own
experience, and that of others who accompanied
him, that it was impossible to look at them without
a sensation of horror; so menacing and terrible
was their aspect. The sensation was doubtless
39
THE VIRGIN ISLANDS
caused in a great measure by the idea of their
being cannibals. In this skirmish, according to
the same writer, the Indians used poisoned arrows;
and one of the Spaniards died within a few days,
of a wound received from one of the females.
‘Pursuing his voyage, Columbus soon came in
sight of a great cluster of islands, some verdant
and covered with forests, but the greater part
naked and sterile, rising into craggy mountains;
with rocks of a bright azure color, and some of a
glistering white. These, with his usual vivacity
of imagination, he supposed to contain mines of
rich metals and precious stones. The islands
lying close together, with the sea beating roughly
in the narrow channels which divided them,
rendered it dangerous to enter among them with
the large ships. Columbus sent in a small caravel
with lateen sails, to reconnoitre, which returned
with the report that there were upwards of fifty
islands, apparently inhabited. To the largest of
this group he gave the name of Santa Ursula, and
called the others the Eleven Thousand Virgins.”
It has frequently been suggested that the Island
of Virgin Gorda is the one originally named St.
Ursula, but it is more likely that either St. Thomas
40
on
~~ om
A
- =
y:
ot
Y.
=
—
— —
A+
—
———
————
——
a
ae
——
~~ ae
_—
—.
—
MOSQUITO BAY, 8ST. THOMAS
Saba Island, and Dove Cay in Distance
———
_—_—
a
——
—_
-_— ae.
ee
~- +
~~
at al
~~
<<
o-
=
. —
—
~
— ~
—
~
~~ >.
a
as
WATER BAY AND NATIVE BRINGING IN FODDER FROM THATCH CAY, 8ST. Thomas
Ses
-%
-*
{TY
ve
Gee
a
i ¥
ye
-<
KS
o>
_.
—-
BENZ
et ye - >
ot
ot
for
~~
vee
Sw
7.
OP
ms
-
pe
“
ABORIGINAL POTTERY DRYING IN THE SUN
.
-_
NORTH COAST OF ST. THOMAS, OUTER BRASS AND INNER BRASS ISLANDS
GLIMPSES OF FOUR HUNDRED YEARS
or St. John was the one named after St. Ursula.
In voyaging from St. Croix either of the latter
islands would be first sighted by a navigator and,
as Columbus was on a voyage of discovery, he would
probably investigate and name the first island seen.
It should be noted that, geographically, St.
Croix does not belong to the Virgin Islands, but
that from common usage it has been included under
this name..
It has frequently been stated that the encounter
between the soldiers of Columbus and the Indians
on St. Croix led to the first blood-shed in the New
World between the conquistadors and the aborig-
ines. But an encounter took place during the
first voyage of Columbus in 1492, when he dis-
covered Samana Bay, on the Island of Hispaniola.
This bay, in fact, was named by the Admiral the
Bay of Arrows, in commemoration of the event.
St. Croix, therefore, cannot lay claim to the
doubtful honor of having been the first battlefield
in the New World.
No trustworthy records have been discovered
of the ultimate fate of the aboriginal inhabitants
of St. Thomas, St. Croix and St. John. Possibly
a statement made by the German historian, Olden-
41
THE VIRGIN ISLANDS
dorp, may afford aclue. He says that, about 1555,
the Indians were driven away from the Virgin
Islands by Charles V of Spain, the Emperor having
ordered that they be treated as enemies and
exterminated. But was not Oldendorp speaking
of the Island of St. Croix, and not of the true
Virgin Islands group, when he made this state-
ment? It is much more likely that such inhabi-
tants as may have lived upon the Virgin Islands
after their discovery were taken as slaves, and
made to work the mines on Hispaniola after the
labor supply of this latter island had become
exhausted. But even if Oldendorp’s statement is
founded on fact, it does not necessarily imply that
the extermination of the Indians was completely
carried out. Nevertheless, when the Danish,
Dutch and French settlers arrived on these islands,
at different times in the seventeenth century, no
Indians were found on them.
It was due to the efforts of the Museum of the
American Indian, Heye Foundation, that a few
of the problems regarding the pre-Columbian
inhabitants of this little group of islands have
been solved, and short mention will be made of
the archeological work done under the auspices of
42
GLIMPSES OF FOUR HUNDRED YEARS
this institution when the history of each island
is discussed.
After the visit of the Spanish squadron under
Columbus, history takes but little note of the
islands. . This silence continued through most of
the sixteenth and seventeenth centuries. Probably
the dread in which they were held by the early
navigators had a great deal to do with the silence.
A sailing vessel caught in the strong currents which
eddy between the rocks and shoals of the islands,
might find great difficulty in extricating itself,
especially in days when there were nocharts of
these waters.
_ An indication of the fear with which the seas
surrounding the Virgin Islands were regarded was
given by the Earl of Cumberland, who, in 1596,
while on his way to take Porto Rico, said that
“he would rather be the first to take Porto Rico,
than the second to pass through the Virgines.”
The first to pass this way was Sir Francis Drake,
who, in 1580, sailed through what was later known
as the Drake Channel between the islands. The
Earl of Cumberland mentioned at the same time
that the islands were “wholly uninhabited, sandy,
barren, and craggy.”
43
THE VIRGIN ISLANDS
The first mention of settlers on any of the
Virgin Islands was made in 1625, when St. Croix
was colonized. St. Thomas remained uninhabited
for even a longer time, there being no record of
Europeans on this island until 1666. St. John was
not colonized until 1684.
Each of these islands has its individual history
until 1788, when the Island of St. Croix was pur-
chased from France for the sum of seventy-five
thousand pounds by the Danish West India
and Guinea Company. Holdings of this company
were sold to the Danish Crown in 1754, and a
commercial policy was instituted which was re-
sponsible for the new prosperity.
St. Thomas was thrown open as a free port in
1764 with certain restrictions to ships from Euro-
pean ports, though these restrictions were partially
removed in 1767. In 1815 the trade of St. Thomas
and St. John became free from all restrictions,
and European ships were allowed to enter on
equal terms with those from America. St. Croix,
on the other hand, was not opened to international
commerce until 1833.
Little occurred to interest the student of inter-
national affairs until the British fleet under Admiral
4%
GLIMPSES OF FOUR HUNDRED YEARS
Duckworth and General Trigg captured the islands
on April 1, 1801. A little before this time Den-
mark and Norway had allied themselves with
France, and England was not slow in seizing the
Danish colonial possessions in retaliation. The
islands were held until February 22, 1802, and
were restored to Denmark by the Treaty of Amiens.
In 1807 affairs between Great Britain and
France once more came to a crisis, and on Decem-
ber 22 the islands were captured by the British
under Admiral Cochrane and General Bowyer. They
continued under British rule: until April 15, 1815.
They were then restored by Great Britain, which
took the Danish island of Heligoland in exchange.
Since 1815 the islands have not been involved
in international affairs, and their history is but a
record of fires, hurricanes and slave rebellions. The
chief events of this period came in 1847, when
King Christian VIII passed certain laws for the
future emancipation of slaves, and in 1848, when
slavery was abolished throughout the Danish West
Indies after an uprising of the slaves of St. Croix.
Thus freedom came to the islands fifteen years
before the Emancipation Proclamation put an end
to slavery in the United States.
45
CHAPTER III
ON BEAUTIFUL ST. THOMAS
UPS AND DOWNS OF THE FIRST COLONISTS—GOVERNOR
IVERSEN’S STRINGENT REGULATIONS—WHEN SUGAR DIS-
PLACED TOBACCO—“ON THE WAY TO EVERY OTHER
PLACE.”—-BOMBARDING A CLIFF INSTEAD OF A SHIP—-THE
COLOR SCHEME OF CHARLOTTE-AMALIA—THE SIGNAL-
MAN’S DILEMMA—A HEALTHY ISLAND'S MOST FATAL
DISEASE—THE NIGHT OF THE HURRICANE
there areno trustworthy records
that tell of the first settlement of St.
Thomas, it is generally believed that
there was a colony on the island at some time
before 1647. In 1647 a small company of French
settlers from the nearby Crab Island made their
way to St. Thomas, after the destruction of their
plantations and the burning of their ships by
Spanish soldiers. The perilous voyage was made
in frail canoes. Upon their arrival on St. Thomas
these refugees found abandoned groves of lemons,
oranges and bananas, which helped to keep them
from starvation. It is reasonable to suppose that
these groves were planted during the short occupa-
tion of St. Thomas by Dutch buccaneers, who
afterward settled on St. Martin and St. Eustatius.
46
oe
--
ON BEAUTIFUL ST. THOMAS
St. Thomas next appears on the records as
having been the burial place of one Erik Schmidt,
who arrived on the ship Eendracht, in 1666. This
vessel probably brought supplies to Dutch settlers
who had taken up their abode there at some time
between 1657 and 1666. Soon a number of these
people, learning of the great prosperity of the new
colony of New Amsterdam, now New York, took
their departure for the village on the Hudson. In
1667 the remainder were forced to leave St.
Thomas. At that time St. Thomas, St. Martin
and St. Eustatius were captured by the British,
and the captors insisted upon the removal of the
St. Thomas colonists to the latter two islands,
owing to their greater fertility.
The island once abandoned, it was an easy
matter for the newly-formed Danish West India
and Guinea Company to claim St. Thomas, in
1667, as a trading-post, in spite of protests from
Great Britain, which claimed the island by right
of conquest. This objection was not followed up
by any serious measures, and preparations were
made in Denmark to found a colony on St. Thomas.
On August 31, 1671, the first ship, the Golden
Crown, was dispatched from Copenhagen, while
47
THE VIRGIN ISLANDS
less than three months later the Pharaoh followed.
On this vessel came Jorgen Iversen, the new gov-
ernor, to whom had been given full power to repre-
sent Danish authority. When the Pharaoh arrived,
on May 23, 1672, a few colonists were already
established. These were principally Dutch planters
who had returned from the islands of St. Martin
and St. Eustatius to reclaim their former holdings
on St. Thomas. With them were a few negro
slaves.
It cannot be said that the early Danish colonists
were of high character. In fact, they resembled
the criminal type of sailors, who, upon being
granted pardon for former offenses, were induced
to accompany Columbus on his first voyage of
discovery. There were also among the first set-
tlers a number of Danes who, in order to settle
pressing debts and to escape imprisonment by their
creditors, had sold themselves for service in the
colony. Men of this class were hardly promis-
ing material for the founding of a prosperous
settlement. .
When Governor Iversen reached the scene of
his labors he was compelled to adopt stern meas-
ures to force his subjects to fulfil their contracts
48
ON BEAUTIFUL ST. THOMAS
and attend to their duties. His first official act
was the building of a fort, which was probably
commenced in 1672. It became the residence not
only of the governor, but also of the Lutheran
pastor who accompanied the expedition. Part of
this fort is included in the present Christian’s Fort
at Charlotte-Amalia.
That Governor Iversen ruled the new colony
with an iron hand is revealed by some of his proc-
lamations. He commanded everybody to attend
service in the fort every Sunday, the penalty for
failure to attend being twenty-five pounds of
tobacco. There was also provision for a fine of
fifty pounds of tobacco for the performance by
the servants of the settlers of unnecessary Sunday
work. -All householders were obliged to keep in
their homes arms for defense and a sufficient sup-
ply of powder and ball, there being a penalty of
one hundred pounds of tobacco for failure to do so.
Specific warnings were to be given in case of attack
from an enemy. Drills were held every Saturday
afternoon in favorable weather, and there were
fines for non-attendance. Departure from the
island without permission of the governor was also
punished with a fine, although the proclamation
4 49
THE VIRGIN ISLANDS
did not state how this fine could be collected, once
the transgressor had departed.. Servants must not
leave their masters, and if they made a practice
of running away, they were to be held in irons until
they were broken of the habit.
The growing of tobacco was the chief occupa-
tion of these early colonists, and it is likely that
this commodity was the principal article of export.
The raising of cattle was an industry of such im-
portance that the colonists lived in a constant
state of alarm because of the raids made upon
their pastures by the Spaniards from Porto Rico
and the buccaneers of Tortola. It is therefore not
strange that Governor Iversen provided for the
arming of his followers; the Danes had every reason
to guard themselves from molestation by inhabi-
tants of other islands. Even the Spaniards from
Porto Rico took part in the campaign against these
early Danes, and they succeeded in capturing Crab
Island, over which Governor Iversen first claimed
sovereignty in 1682. Two years later, the place of
Crab Island was taken by St. John, which was
then added to the island realm of which Iversen
was governor. St. Croix did not become a part of
the Danish possessions until 1733.
50
ON BEAUTIFUL ST. THOMAS
Difficulties of another sort were not lacking.
A labor shortage was soon felt. The Danish ser-
vants proved unsatisfactory, and the slaves who
belonged to Dutch landowners did not supply the
demand for workmen. Word of this condition of
affairs was sent to the home government in Copen-
hagen, and prompt measures were taken to meet
the colony’s needs. The Danish West India and
Guinea Company purchased land on the Gold
Coast of Africa and erected two forts. With these
forts as a base, the servants of the company con-
ducted operations which insured a constant supply
of slaves for the Antillean colony.
In 1685 the Danish West India Company found
its means too limited to furnish a sufficient number
of ships for the transportation of the necessary
slaves to St. Thomas to supply the agricultural
needs of the landowners, and for the carrying of
the exports from this island back to the native
country. An arrangement was therefore made with
the Duchy of Brandenburg to operate a factory
on St. Thomas.
The result is what might have been expected,
for soon after the erection of the Brandenburg
Company’s trading station, the Danish West India
51
x
THE VIRGIN ISLANDS
Company found that it was losing a large amount
of its trade to the new enterprise. As a conse-
quence there was much jealousy between the com-
panies, and the older organization longed to cancel
the rights given to the Brandenburg Company.
This could not be done, however, for the term of the
contract ran until 1716. It was fortunate that a
period could not be put earlier to the new com-
pany’s privileges, for it was due to the efforts of
this company that sugar cane supplanted tobacco
plantations. In those days the price of sugar was
extremely high. Thus, while the Danish West
India Company was the loser by the transaction,
the island of St. Thomas was materially benefited.
At one time the affairs of the Danish West
India Company were at such a low ebb that in
1690 the Danish king was compelled to rent the
entire colony of St. Thomas, with the exception
of the holdings of the Brandenburg Company, to a
man named Thormdéhlen, probably in order to
secure to him the liens which he held upon the
property. The lease was for a period of ten years,
and Thorméhlen was obliged by the terms of his
contract to maintain during this time a garrison.
The soldiers of this garrison arrived in 1692, and
52
©
4
Photograph by Clarence Taylor, St. Thomas
VIEW OF ST. THOMAS HARBOR AND CHARLOTTE-AMALIA FROM HAVENSICHT HILL
2N10d 8,1GANTIHOW NO NOLLVLS
SNILNVaVOD GNV ‘GNVISI THEBVH NO LUELLVG 8,TI@MOD GNV GNIZVOVA BXGMOd HLLA SORUVA SVMOHL ‘18 OL GONVELNE
ON BEAUTIFUL ST. THOMAS
these were the first regular troops to be stationed
in Christian’s Fort.
St. Thomas lies in latitude 18 degrees 20
minutes N. and longitude 64 degrees 55 minutes
W., and is but forty miles from Porto Rico and
twenty-five miles from the island of Culebra. A
vessel going from St. Thomas to Porto Rico is
always sheltered by the cays lying between the
islands. Even small craft are generally safe in
making the passage. Owing to the prevailing
easterly trade winds, it is easier to go from St.
Thomas to Porto Rico in a sailing vessel than it is
to return by the same means; while it not infre-
quently takes but five hours to go from Charlotte-
Amalia to the port of Fajardo on the east coast of
Porto Rico, the return voyage has been known to
take from two to three days. This difference is
partly due to the strong currents running between
the islands which offer a serious Gnpediment when
the wind is light.
The island is admirably situated for communi-
cation with other ports. It is on a direct line be-
tween Europe and the entrance to the Panama
Canal. Furthermore, vessels plying between the
Atlantic ports of North America and the Atlantic
53
THE VIRGIN ISLANDS
ports of South America must pass directly by the
island, which is situated fourteen hundred miles
from New York, one thousand miles from Colon
and five hundred miles. from La Guaira, the chief
port of the Republic of Venezuela. Thus the enthu-
siastic traveler was not far wrong who said that St.
Thomas is “‘the place which is on the way to every
other place.” He justified this description by adding:
‘*When the sailor lays his course for any part
of the Caribbean Sea, the tip of his horny finger
points to St. Thomas. To call the little island the
gateway of the Caribbean is not poetic fancy. The
shortest and best course from England to any
Central American port, for steamer or sail, is by
St. Thomas. For the liner from the United States
to Brazil, the most convenient port of call is St.
Thomas. To go from the Greater to the Lesser
Antilles, one goes by way of St. Thomas. Nature
has given this half-way house of the sea a prestige
that even the commercial supremacy of Barbadoes
has not overshadowed.”
St. Thomas is surrounded by seventeen islands
and cays and by an innumerable number of rocks.
The islands and cays are mostly very small, the
largest being Water Island, which is two and one-
54
ON BEAUTIFUL ST. THOMAS
half miles long and three-fourths of a mile wide,
and Hans Lollik, one and one-half miles long and
one mile wide. Most of these cays are rocky and
elevated, and all are uninhabited, with the excep-
tion of Water Island and Thatch Cay.
Perhaps the most remarkable of the cays is a
small island called Sail Rock, so called because
this mountainous rock when viewed from the east-
ward has the exact appearance of a vessel under
sail. There is a tradition that there was once an
engagement between a French frigate and this
little island. In the night the commanding officer
of the frigate ran close to Sail Rock, which he took
for a privateersman. He hailed the supposed ship,
and the echoes from the rock returned the hail.
Receiving no satisfactory answer from the “‘pri-
vateersman,” the commander gave orders to fire.
The echoes returned the noise of the cannonade.
As the frigate was very close to Sail Rock, some of
the cannon balls ricochetted and gave the impres-
sion that the adversary was giving battle. It is
said that the engagement continued for some hours.
Not until dawn did the commander of the frigate
realize his mistake and retire from the scene in
mortification.
55
THE VIRGIN ISLANDS
The length of St. Thomas is thirteen miles,
while its average width is about two miles. The
area is 28.25 square miles, or about eighteen thou-
sand acres, of which only about five hundred acres
are under cultivation, while possibly two thousand
acres are used for pasturage. The island is really
nothing more than a range of hills running east
and west, with branching spurs. There is prac-
tically no level land. The highest elevation toward
the western part of the island, is 1515 feet. This
hill is called West Mountain. The next highest
peak, Signal Hill, in the center of the island, has
an elevation of 1500 feet.
While the island is not as well watered as St.
John—which has the largest water supply of the
three islands, probably owing to the presence of
forests, which are absent on both St. Thomas and
St. Croix—there are a number of springs on the
northern side. An absolute water shortage, such
as is occasionally experienced on some of the smaller
Antillean islands, has not been known to occur
here. There is but one small stream, and this
loses itself in the hills; probably it finds an outlet
to the sea through a fissure in the rocks.
According to geologists, the island is composed
56
ON BEAUTIFUL ST. THOMAS
for the most part of a mass of Trappean rocks of
various colors, and these rocks contain many veins
of quartz which can be observed wherever a cut
has been made in the rocks along the road. Much
of the rock has decomposed, and is still decompos-
ing into yellow or reddish clay. The aborigines
made their pottery from this clay. In places the
rock also decomposes into a whitish marl.
With the exception of red ochre, there are no
known minerals on St. Thomas. In a few places
can be seen the white coraline limestone so typical
of the western Antilles.
While the agriculturist can obtain remarkable
results because of the wonderful climate anda
fairly equable rainfall, the soil in most places is
thin and it is liable to be washed from the hill
slopes on which it is found.
It is more than likely that St. Thomas at one
time was covered with dense forests, but none of
these remain today. The trees were probably
felled by the earlier settlers and the valuable woods
found in them were sold or used for the local manu-
facture of furniture.
St. Thomas harbor is located on the southern
side of the island, and its entrance faces almost
57
THE VIRGIN ISLANDS
due south. The mouth is fairly narrow, although
its width of nine hundred feet is ample for large
vessels. After passing through the narrow en-
trance, the harbor gradually expands into a large,
circular bowl some two miles in diameter. A
somewhat fanciful geological theory claims that
the harbor is formed by the crater of a submerged,
extinct volcano. This theory has been suggested
more because of the shape of the harbor basin than
because of the evidence of geological formation.
For many years, navigators found it difficult
to locate the southern shore of St. Thomas during
the night, and they were. compelled to wait for
daybreak before entering the harbor. Since the
erection of a lighthouse on Buck Island, passage
in the night has become possible, but even now the
services of the pilot who meets ships outside the
harbor entrance are needed.
A traveler once gave the following true and
picturesque description of the first sight of Char-
lotte-Amalia by the tourist who enters the harbor:
“‘The view from deck, as the ship creeps into
the anchorage, is the most charming in the West
Indies. The bay lacks the great sweep of Algiers,
but it has the same mountain background, the
58 :
a
-
¥YTTTTT
——.
f “.
ee
—_
iid
a
=)
oo —
«aly =
a
on
.—$_ 2
~
—
ve
7
—
——
a
nme
me
a oe
FRONT ENTRANCE OF CHRISTIAN'S
FORT FROM
COURTYARD INSIDD
=-
a
ry
az
ve
—
er
eo 5,
—
—
—_—s
v7
~~
=
SIGNAL STATION, TOP OF COWELL'S BATTERY
== oy
ah can
‘vie
i 2
ale oR
ot
SSF
Tre
a=
*|
aig
to=—
4 ath
\
at?
Pa
met
Li
watt SAS
a)
——— a
a
\ uy
i
t)\
Ah
" >
t2.
af
vx
My
|
"-
,
a
)/
")
mr
BATTLEMENTS OF CHRISTIAN 8 FORT AND BLACKBEARD’S
CASTLE ON TOP OF GOVERNMENT HILL, CHARLOTTE-
AMALIA, ST. THOMAS
abe ke
ae
«
>
May
we
=
‘\
mg
—S————
y Ov ae
~.——
.
~~ =
— te
-
E>
- +A
—s
Nye,
ae
:
COALING WHARF OF
THE WEST INDIA COMPANY,
LTD., CHARLOTTE-AMALIA
Destroyed October 9, 1916
ON BEAUTIFUL ST. THOMAS
same glorious blue of sea and sky. The village,
blue and orange and yellow and red, recalls
some of the coast towns of Italy. The garden
walls of the hillside villas shine out dazzlingly
white against the luxurious green of the tropical
foliage. The ruins of Bluebeard’s castle above
the town—a landmark of the old days of the
buccaneer—present the only touch of gray. The
rest is a riot of color. Most striking of all is the
gaudy red Danish fortress down by the water
front. I have never seen so red a building. At
first it is glaring and unpleasant, but after a time
one’s eyes become accustomed to the new scale of
color values which the intense sun of the tropics
requires. And the bizarre glory of the fort—which
would be unspeakably offensive in a gray mantle
—seems to be not out of place in the color scheme
of St. Thomas. The town of Charlotte-Amalia
has taken the atmosphere of Algiers and the gor-
geous coloring of Venice, rolled them into one, and
reduced it to miniature.”
On passing the harbor’s mouth, one is imme-
diately reminded by Cowell’s Battery of the British
occupation of 1801 and 1802. This battery was
erected by Colonel Cowell during this period. It
59
THE VIRGIN ISLANDS
was constructed upon the highest elevation of
Hassel Island. Nearby lie buried the soldiers who
died during the occupation. On the shore, below
the hill, are the remains of an early Danish strong-
hold, which antedates the British fortifications.
Near the old Danish fort is the gaily painted pow-
der magazine, which was used as a storehouse for
explosives during the latter days of the Danish
occupation.
To-day, Cowell’s Battery is used as a signal
station, and it is from here that the inhabitants of
Charlotte-Amalia learn of the coming of vessels
to St. Thomas Harbor. A mast with a yard-arm
serves to support the semaphore and a number of
wicker balls. The positions of the balls and of the
semaphore arms indicate whether an incoming ship
is a sailing vessel, a steamer or a man-of-war, its
nationality and the direction from which it is
coming. Without this signal station, a number of
the inhabitants of Charlotte-Amalia would be de-
prived of their chief interest, and their greatest
source of gossip. .
The citizens say that at one time a Siamese
man-of-war called at St. Thomas in order to obtain
a supply of coal for its bunkers. On seeing the
60
ON BEAUTIFUL ST. THOMAS
ship approach, the watchman on the signal hill did
not find in his signal book any instructions inform-
ing him what position to give the balls and the
semaphore for a man-of-war of this nationality.
In desperation, he rigged up his signal mast with
all the wicker spheres he happened to have on hand.
Naturally the people became greatly excited and
made all sorts of hurried preparations for inter-
national festivities, for they thought that the com-
bined navies of the world were coming to visit
their little island.
‘One of the most interesting excursions on St.
Thomas may be taken by rowboat to Cowell’s
Point, and thence up the hill upon which the
battery is located. The existence on the rocks
below the signal station of a large sign which adver-
tises the bay rum of a local manufacturer, does
much to spoil an otherwise perfect view. During
the hurricane of October, 1916, the sign was blown
down, but this offensive eyesore to all visitors
approaching St. Thomas Harbor has unfortunately
been restored.
Directly opposite Hassel Island, on Muhlenfel’s
Point, is the quarantine station. This, happily, is
seldom needed for its intended purpose. When no
61
‘THE VIRGIN ISLANDS
patients are residing there, it is occasionally rented
out to picnic parties from Charlotte-Amalia. This
is a delightful spot for a temporary sojourn, for
the sea bathing here is the best on the island.
The harbor of St. Thomas presents little diffi-
culty to navigation. The few obstructions beneath
the surface have been marked by buoys, while the
rocks which extend above sea level have been care-
fully whitewashed. A number of range-lights also
protect the harbor and serve to keep the incoming
ship in its proper channel. The harbor is land-
locked, and the safety of ships in the harbor is
jeopardized only when the dreaded West Indian
hurricanes strike St. Thomas from a southerly
direction.
But for the hurricanes St. Thomas would be an
earthly paradise. The climate is healthy for new-
comers, even for those who are unaccustomed to
the tropics, and it is especially enjoyable during
the winter months. The greatest heat is felt in
August, September and October, but even then
the thermometer seldom goes above 91 degrees
Fahrenheit, while the average temperature is 84
degrees Fahrenheit. In winter the temperature
occasionally drops as low as 67 degrees, and the
62
ON BEAUTIFUL ST. THOMAS
nights are so chilly that it is necessary to sleep
under a blanket.
The rainfall is not excessive; it averages about
forty-seven inches per year. May, August, Sep-
tember, October and November are the rainy
months, but it is not unusual for a drought to
prevail for six or even nine months. Such a pro-
longed drought is generally followed by severe rains.
Though this is not true of the majority of West
Indian islands, the air of St. Thomas is bracing.
Probably this is due to the fact that the island is
directly exposed to the Atlantic Ocean on the
north, so that it feels the cooling effects of this
large body of water rather than the tropical heat
radiated by the Caribbean Sea. For invalids and
for people of delicate constitution, the equable
climate is especially suitable, and many wonderful
cures have been credited to the island. All that
is necessary in many cases is simply to live long
enough in the bracing climate.
Aside from scorpions and centipedes, there are
no poisonous animals, and no intending visitor
need fear the presence of the usual venomous in-
sects of the tropics. There are no snakes of any
variety. Land crabs are the chief annoyance.
63
THE VIRGIN ISLANDS
Thanks to the efforts of the government, there are
few mosquitos in the town itself, although occa-
sionally sand-flies and mosquitos make life a burden
in other parts of the island, especially in the rainy
season.
Once the general sanitary conditions of Char-
lotte-Amalia were not entirely satisfactory, but
these have been greatly improved by the blasting
of a channel through the “Haul-over” peninsula
which connects Hassel Island with the mainland
of St. Thomas. This channel permits a current of
water to circulate through the harbor. Formerly
the waters which washed the shores of the town
became stagnant at times and the imperceptible
flow of the ebb and flood tide was not sufficient to
carry off the refuse which was emptied in the bay.
In consequence, there were a number of typhoid
fever epidemics. Since the opening of the new
channel, there has been no more difficulty.
Nowadays there are no epidemics in Charlotte-
Amalia, owing to the efficient medical inspection
and the stringent quarantine laws and regulations
made for vessels which enter from infected ports
and the efficient medical inspection. The death
rate of the island is remarkably low, and its inhab-
64.
ON BEAUTIFUL ST. THOMAS
itants generally seem to die from one disease only,
_a disease for which no cure has been found—old age.
Hurricanes will always be the principal draw-
back to residence in the West Indies, and St.
Thomas does not escape them. Many times the
island has been visited by these destructive storms.
In 1718, in 1788, in 1742, in 1772, in 1798, in 1819,
in 1887, in 1867 and again in 1916, tropical storms
passed over the little island and caused an incred-
ible amount of destruction. These storms are
regarded with such dread that it is the custom of
the people, at the commencement of the hurricane
season, to offer prayers that their island may
escape from the horrors of the tempests. At the
end of the season, they betake themselves to their
churches and give thanks that the period of danger
has been safely passed.
The last hurricane, on the night of October 9,
1916, was perhaps one of the most destructive ever
experieneed. The smaller negro cabins were bodily
blown from their foundations and smashed to
pieces against other buildings or trees. Few houses
escaped without the loss of their roofs or damage
of some kind. That little loss of life accompanied
the hurricanes was a miracle, for the galvanized
5 65
THE VIRGIN ISLANDS
iron sheets which formed the roof coverings of the
houses were hurled through the air like projectiles.
The rain which accompanied the hurricane in many
instances did more damage than the wind itself,
and the stocks of a number of merchants were
totally ruined. Trees which for many decades had
been the pride of the town were uprooted. Elec-
tric light poles, branches of trees, pieces of gutter-
ing, spouts and tiles from the roofs, filled the
public thoroughfares with a tangled mass of debris.
In the harbor the Danish bark Thor was wrecked
on the rocks near Cowell’s Battery. The St. Hilda
dredge was taken up bodily and placed alongside
the landing wharf in three feet of water. The
Hamburg-American liner Calabria, which had been
anchored in the harbor since the beginning of the
European War, was thrown on the rocks east of
the wharf with practically her entire bottom
ripped out. The Wasgenwald, owned by the same
company, was torn from her moorings and driven
ashore, but the vessel managed to pull herself off
with but slight injuries. The motor ship Anholt
was thrown high and dry on the beach. A number
of sailing vessels foundered in the harbor. Two large
electric conveyers of the Danish West India Com-
66
ON BEAUTIFUL ST. THOMAS
pany were reduced to a tangled mass of scrap iron.
On the morning of October 10, when the extent
of the damage caused during the night could be
perceived, the Danish officials took prompt and
active steps, not only to give relief to the sufferers
but also to restore the town as far as possible to
its usual immaculate condition. In many instances
money was given to the poor to enable them to
build new houses. In other cases money was
loaned without interest.
In addition to these means of bringing relief,
the government placed gangs at work on the moun-
tain roads, which in many instances had been
completely effaced, and restored them to their
proper condition. A little park on the water front
which, until the night of the hurricane, had been
one of the principal attractions of Charlotte-
Amalia, and which was almost completely demol-
ished, was cleaned up and the uprooted trees were
replanted when this was possible. Even after the
officials of the island were informed that the sale
of the Danish West Indies was a certainty they
did not in any way diminish their efforts towards
effacing the damage caused by the storm; they
seemed to think it a sacred duty to hand over the
67
THE VIRGIN ISLANDS
islands to the United States in as good condition
as possible.
While, of course, the damage caused by one of
these hurricanes is enormous, one must take into
consideration the fact that tropical houses as a
general rule are but lightly built and easily blown
down. No true West Indian will learn from the
last hurricane that he should prepare his new abode
in conformity with the demands that may be made
upon its strength by any subsequent storm. For
this reason the inhabitants of the Antilles are fre-
quently a great deal to blame for the fact that their
homes have suffered the effects of a hurricane.
The damage done in the agricultural areas, while
large, is not noticeable three months after the
passing of a storm, as in the luxuriant climate of
St. Thomas practically all destroyed vegetation is
quickly replaced.
Earthquakes also sometimes occur, and these
are most frequent in the months of January, Feb-
ruary and March. No intending visitor to St.
Thomas need, however, feel any alarm on this
score. While, occasionally, plaster and loose stones
or bricks from old walls have been known to fall,
no instance has yet been recorded of so much as a
68
a
~N
Ny
»
—_
~
4
af
de
v
a
|
|
u,
1
WJ
AS)
ml
ix
i ll
—
acti, Soe
—-,
*J)
=
40
a
os
Jay
~)
Joa
— a
CANAAN ESTATE HOUSE, AFTER HURRICANE
hs Hf}
—_»eES
=i)
ti
Je
j :
Pu
fy
i
fas
—
ie
lo
“sy
==
1/58) pi
oy
we
-
Z
a=
wet
a
4
aa, 4
>
N
se oe ee
Do .'-
-
~~ Fea
—
OE age
=.
—
~
——+
a
2EESTS
=>
a
Es
~~
<=
--
— +
Se
=
HAMBURG-AMERICAN LINE OFFICES, AND DREDGE “ST. HILDA”
Driven Ashore by Hurricane
a oe
=
{¢
é-
>
——
_———,
= Nomnad
=—-
~~
—-
_—
~~
.
~ tae as
>
is
—
aad
>
FIRING TIME-GUN BATTERY ON WATERFRONT, CHARLOTTE-AMALIA
De .<.—
ESO oye,
—
_-
2
it
a)
«¢
ap ot
oe
jie!
1A
a)
ep
ey
va
sl:
t=
4
1 a
fi
ha
a
Ye
7
=
ir
LA
4.
uf
¥
i
Le,
>
‘te
ai
LUTHERAN CHURCH, CHARLOTTE-AMALIA
ON BEAUTIFUL ST. THOMAS
wall being thrown down. Usually the shocks seem
to come from the south and pass off toward the
north. Rarely are there more than two shocks.
The earthquakes have but once been accompanied
by marine disturbances, such as tidal waves; they
appear to be nothing but survivals of stronger
shocks that may have taken place in South America
and been thence transmitted to St. Thomas.
ao
An old wood cut of Blackbeard’s Castle,
Charlotte-Amalia, St. Thomas, made by Dr.
Charles Taylor. The pirate’s flag is a con-
cession to popular sentiment.
CHAPTER IV
RAMBLES ABOUT CHARLOTTE-AMALIA
PICTURESQUE COAL CARRIERS—WHY ENGLISH IS THE POPU-
LAR LANGUAGE—HOW THE “RECONCILING-COURT” DIS-
COURAGES LITIGATION—CHURCHES AND sCHOOILS—
STREETS, GUTTERS AND HILLS—THE FABLES OF FOUR
\HILL-TOPS—BUCCANEERS, BLACKBEARD AND BLUEBEARD ’
—WHY THE GUNS WERE FIRED—HOSPITALITY AND
FLOWERS—WATER-FRONT ACTIVITY
HE smiling little town of Charlotte-
Amalia nestles among four hills, which
branch southward from the main range
of the island. No stranger can fail to be im-
pressed by the beauty of the situation of the
picturesque town and no native of St. Thomas can
return here after an absence, be it ever so short,
without being thoroughly content with his original
choice of residence.
Charlotte-Amalia was the seat of government
when Denmark ruled, and the governor of the
three islands spent six months out of the year here
and the other six months on the island of St. Croix.
The town was named after the consort of Christian
V, in whose time it was founded. On the earliest
records the name of the town was Tappus, but why
70
RAMBLES ABOUT CHARLOTTE-AMALIA
this name was used is not known. The population
is about eight thousand, though there are only
about ten thousand people on the entire island.
That there are many more women than men is
due to the fact that so many of the men have been
forced to leave the island to gain a living.
Fully ninety per cent. of the total population
is negro, but, despite this fact, the St. Thomian
negroes are far more polite than any other negroes
in the West Indies; they do not seem to wish to
be on a footing of equality with their white fellow-
citizens. ‘This is undoubtedly due to the excellent
and kind training given them during the Danish
rule, the results of which will show for many years.
If in the future the same treatment is accorded the
natives, there will be no troubles between the
whites and the negroes.
Because of hard times the negroes of St. Thomas
have been too frequently forced to leave their
beloved little island and seek a living elsewhere.
These absentees from home make splendid servants.
Happy indeed does a housewife in the West Indies
count herself who possesses a St. Thomian for a
house-servant. Her less fortunate sisters who have -
to content themselves with an inefficient and at
71
THE VIRGIN ISLANDS
times insolent servant from Barbadoes, or some
other British island, look upon her with envy.
The stay-at-home St. Thomian depends for a
living chiefly upon the ships that come to Charlotte-
Amalia, either to load or to discharge their cargoes.
He or she, as the case may be,—for the women work
as hard as the men,—easily finds work as a steve-
dore upon one of these vessels, or else as a coal-
carrier on the wharves which supply ships calling
at this port in order to fill their bunkers. .
The stevedore’s wages are one dollar per day.
The coal-carrier is paid according to the amount
of work done. Until January, 1917, the rate for
coal-carriers was a cent for every basket brought
on board. By dint of hard work some of the
stronger laborers were enabled to make as much
as two dollars a day, but this was possible, of
course, for only a few days each week. To earn
two dollars it was necessary to fill two hundred
baskets, each of which contained from eighty-five
to ninety-five pounds of coal, and to toil with these
from the coal heap up a'steeply-inclined gangway to
the bunkers of the ship. A labor union formed in
Charlotte-Amalia, in imitation of a similar organi-
zation founded two years earlier in St. Croix, has
72
eT
ea
P| ta
=|
=i!
Bolt
a! |
ong,
~ 00
—> &
~~ |
a
eo
c
My
72>
he)
ho
TA
i
~~ i ’
KS
ee
~~
“")
eal
we
~ ax
Leet
46
at
»
TYPICAL COAL CARRIERS, CHARLOTTE-
AMALIA
7
~La
es
re
i
eit
lil |.
at
» Bats
LX
‘8
eee 4
yr
yyy yY\
a.
ay
wel
Laz
Tt
ie
Swe |
oe
-——
_——
+ 2,
==
_—~
—————
——
——— —_
aa
a
en
--
——
custom HOUSE AND POST ¢
IFFICE,
CHARLOTTE-AMALIA,
ST. THOMAS
RAMBLES ABOUT CHARLOTTE-AMALIA
succeeded in raising the rate per basket from one
cent to two cents. A few strikes occurred before
the coal companies agreed to this increase, but in
the end matters were settled amicably. The
workers took advantage of the fact that the large
electric cranes, which had been erected by the
West India Company not long before, and which
were capable of handling one hundred and fifty
tons of coal per hour, had been completely wrecked
by the hurricane of October, 1916. Yet it is true
that the increased cost of living, and the fact that
few ships have called at St. Thomas since the
outbreak of the European War, made higher wages
imperative.
At best, the lot of the faithful coal-carriers is
not enviable. The work is hard and the workers
are exposed to weather of all kinds, from the in-
tense tropical heat of the waterfront to the drench-
ing downpour of the rainy season. In spite of
these hardships, the laborers are a cheerful lot.
They reside in a part of the town known as the
“Back-of-All.” .
The port of San Juan on Porto Rico has of late
years become a serious rival of St. Thomas for the
coaling of ships. A number of steamship lines
73
THE VIRGIN ISLANDS
which for years called at Charlotte-Amalia are
now going to San Juan, where coal is cheaper,
owing to the greater proximity to the ports of the
United States and the better facilities which have
been provided for the supplying of ships with
bunker coal. It is thought that when the United
States establishes a naval base on the island, the
increased demand for laborers and the better pay
which they undoubtedly will receive will go far
toward bettering their lot and the conditions under
which they live.
As a race the St. Thomians are far from indo-
lent. They are hard-working and willing, but not
very efficient, judged by northern standards.
Their employers find it advisable to cajole them,
instead of using harsh words to them. If the
laborers are treated in a kind manner, they are
willing to go to all sorts of extremes to repay the
treatment.
Though, of course, Danish was the official
language under the rule of Denmark, it is rare
indeed to find a native of St. Thomas who is
acquainted with it. All government notices were
printed in both Danish and English, while the two
local newspapers appeared in the English language.
74
RAMBLES ABOUT CHARLOTTE-AMALIA
But for the fact that the streets bear Danish names,
the visitor would not realize that he is in a former
colony of Denmark. The Danish language was
never forced upon the inhabitants by the govern-
ment, and, as a matter of fact, they would have
had but little use for it, since their principal com-
mercial relations have been with the English-
speaking races.
Offenses of a criminal nature are almost un-
known on the island. A few instances of theft
were so severely punished that grand larceny was
completely stamped out. While a St. Thomian is
not above appropriating to himself or to his family
food from his master’s table or any small trifle
that happens to strike his fancy, it cannot be said
that predetermined stealing is part of his nature.
Little happens to disturb the quiet of the tropi-
cal dolce-far-niente of Charlotte-Amalia. A quarrel
between two jealous female coal-carriers, or the
bibulous noise made by a convivial laborer on
pay day, are about the only disturbances that call
for the interference of the few policemen neces-
sary on the island. The law courts are most de-
serted, and only one professional lawyer resides in
Charlotte-Amalia.
75
THE VIRGIN ISLANDS
During the Danish rule, St. Thomas boasted
of a system which the other West Indian islands,
where litigation at times proves costly, might do
well to adopt. This is the “reconciling-court.”
If an employer, for instance, became involved in
a dispute with his clerk as to the wages due the
latter, the clerk was not obliged either to accept
his employer’s decision or to hire an expensive
lawyer to defend his interests. Either the clerk
or his employer could call on the two reconciling
judges of the court, who were appointed from the
people by the governor. The plaintiff could then
state his case and request the judges to take the
matter up. Both parties would then be summoned
and each would be allowed to tell his side of the
question at issue. The judges would give their
opinion off-hand and attempt to effect a settle-
ment between the disputants. Generally this
would succeed, and the matter would be finished.
By this simple means many a costly lawsuit was
prevented and thus the long delays of northern
law courts were unknown. If those who appeared
before the “‘reconciling-court” professed them-
selves as being content with the decision of the
judges and did not carry out the stipulations of
76
RAMBLES ABOUT CHARLOTTE-AMALIA
this decision afterwards, they were severely and
summarily dealt with. If, on the other hand, the
decision of the judges was not satisfactory to them,
and they stated that they wished to carry the
matter to the regular law courts, they were at
liberty to do so.
Since the days of its foundation, Charlotte-
Amalia has always welcomed religious bodies of
all denominations. The official religion of the
Danish government was Lutheran, and ministers
of this creed were sent out by the Crown; but no
restrictions were placed upon the followers of
other beliefs, and as a result the little town has a
diversity of houses of worship. Perhaps the hand-
somest of these buildings is the Memorial Church
of the Moravian Brethren. To-day the Mora-
vians are one of the strongest sects on the island,
and their missionaries take the most active meas-
ures to better the conditions of the St. Thomas
laboring classes.
At first the Lutheran congregation worshipped
in Christian’s Fort. In 1798 the new church
building was consecrated and was used until 1826,
when it was destroyed by fire. The church was
soon rebuilt, and it has been used since 1827.
77
THE VIRGIN ISLANDS
Until the hurricane of 1916, it was chiefly notice-
able because of the beautiful, symmetrical avenue
of royal palms which led from the gate to the
steps of the building. These were totally destroyed.
It will be many years before this attractive feature
of the surroundings of the old building can be
restored.
Like the Lutheran Church, the Dutch Re-
formed Church was founded in Charlotte-Amalia
on the first settlement of the town. It is possible
even that it antedated the Lutheran congregation,
for it is more than likely that the first Dutch
settlers in 1666 had their own pastor with them.
The present building used by the congregation of
the Reformed Dutch Church was erected in 1846,
the two previous buildings having been destroyed
by fire.
- There is also a large and imposing Roman
Catholic church in Charlotte-Amalia. This was
built about 1844. Either Spanish or French
supplements Latin in the services, owing to the
fact that the majority of the Catholics are natives
of the French or Spanish-speaking islands of the
Antilles. Occasionally there are services in English.
The Episcopal Church has many adherents,
78
—
Photograph supplied by William T. Demarest
REFORMED DUTCH CHURCH, CHARLOTTE-AMALIA
Organized 1688
Sy
+2
**
Prive
ss.
oe
an
&
mee
70
he
a
Pc,
_
a
eS
‘Te
ty,
Pn
Fa
ere,
ie
tye
7
a
=<
a
i.
el
Vi
Pn.
_ -_-
> =
—-
Photograph by Clarence Taylor
CHRIST CHURCH, WESLEYAN, CHARLOTTE-AMALIA
rc
Vey,
e
rs)
~
a
1%
iar
=
me
Photograph by Clarence Taylor
MEMORIAL CHURCH, MORAVIAN, CHARLOTTE-AMALIA
_
—_—
Fr
a
Asad
‘te
Pah ae
ab
a
ts
tii
ey}
an |
_
Photograph by Clarence Taylor
ALL SAINTS’ ANGLICAN CHURCH, CHARLOTTE-AMALIA
RAMBLES ABOUT CHARLOTTE-AMALIA
and services are held in a handsome building
which was erected some twenty or thirty years ago.
In addition to the other denominations named,
the French Huguenots and the Jews have places
of worship.
Good public schools have been founded for
education in the lower grades, and Charlotte- —
Amalia compares favorably in this respect with
towns of its size almost anywhere. Facilities for
higher education, however, are woefully lacking.
The more well-to-do of the people are obliged to
send their children to the United States or to
other countries for their final education. It is
also to be regretted that St. Thomas does not
possess a well-equipped trade school where the
negroes can be instructed in the handicrafts. The
Moravian missionaries have made successful efforts
to instruct their followers in craftsmanship, but
otherwise the only manner in which artisans can
learn their trades is by apprenticing themselves
to a master workman.
The town has but one level street of any length.
This is the Main street and it is parallel to the
waterfront. On this are the shops and warehouses
and here merchants and shipping agents have
79
THE VIRGIN ISLANDS
their offices. All other streets run at right angles
to the main street and are quite precipitous, owing
to the fact that the greater part of the town lies
on four hills. These hills are, from west to east,
Frenchmen’s Hill, Delanois Hill, Government Hill,
and Luchetti’s Hill. Many of the streets are
called streets by courtesy only, for they consist of
a series of stone steps which lead to the heights
above. Parallel to these steps run stone gutters
which, in rainy spells, carry the water down hill
to the sea. These gutters are locally known as
“guts,” and on St. Thomas a gut may mean any-
thing from a ravine to a small watercourse. The
streets and steps are always kept extremely clean.
This work is done for the most part by the petty
offenders from the prison in the fort. The houses,
many of which have most picturesque grilled iron
gateways, are painted in all colors and, with their
scarlet roofs, they give a gay touch of color to the
pretty town.
Charlotte-Amalia is lighted by electricity, and
good service both for streets and residences is
given by the electric company. The town also
has a good ice-plant and its markets for the selling
of produce and meat are well arranged. In the
80
RAMBLES ABOUT CHARLOTTE-AMALIA
fish-market a supply of fresh fish can always be
obtained in the mornings, and fruit, brought by
small sailing-vessels from the neighboring British
islands, can generally be purchased.
Frenchmen’s Hill is so called from the fact
that, in the early days, the section of the town in
which is this hill was chosen by the French Hugue-
not refugees as their abode. The hill forms
the extreme western boundary of the town. The
next hill, toward the center of Charlotte-Amalia,
Delanois Hill, is named after one of the early
settlers. Upon the crest are two beacon lights
which, when held in line, serve to indicate to
vessels entering the harbor the proper channel.
Here also can be seen the former Delanois residence
and the house which, at one time, was occupied
by General Santa Anna of Mexico, who came to
St. Thomas, after being expelled from his native
country, to pass his declining years in the quiet
of Charlotte-Amalia. The older residents still
remember seeing this noted warrior in their early
childhood, and enjoy telling visitors of the general
and how he stumped about the town on his wooden
leg.
The central portion of Charlotte-Amalia is
6 81
THE VIRGIN ISLANDS
built upon Government Hill. Here are the official
residence of the governor during the Danish rule
and the former Danish Government offices. Few
colonies of the West Indies boast of a government-
house equal in quiet splendor to that found on
St. Thomas. Here the magnificent functions were
always held for visiting men-of-warsmen, and naval
officers of all nations counted a stay in St. Thomas
harbor one of the most pleasant visits made by
them in the West Indies. The large ballroom of
the residence, with its enormous chandeliers and
wonderful old colonial mahogany furniture, is
especially handsome.
The making of mahogany furniture always was
a specialty of the craftsmen of the island, and
some of their finest pieces are to be found here.
Once visiting tourists were successful in discover-
ing antiques of this kind in the little carpenter
shops of the town, but so much has been carried off
that few specimens are obtainable to-day.
On Government Hill is also Blackbeard’s
Castle, named after the celebrated John Teach,
alias Blackbeard. No proof has ever been brought
forward that this pirate, or any other pirate, ever
actually resided on the island, although in the
82
|
i /,
[
—,
EY
ct:
h
wa,
“ag
ay
“Tt
LR
m.
3
wT
Fr
=~
a,
haa
an
A
*>
-
— ns SY
=~
i
— ae
——
T+
—*\
“
Pe
la
f i
a
on
(mi
—_—
\ he i
-,
“-
ae
wm)
fi *
=~
4
re
>».
y
de®
ei
Ph
hed
PY yu!
™
oar ¥ tag
4
e
~
y)
=,
=:
—
—
éant'\t j
4a
we
was
at
‘
=y
Diet pe
Pre } i
Batis
oo
=)!
hi
i
ay
~’
pith
—-
A
=~)!
="
~*
i
oe
at
RAMBLES ABOUT CHARLOTTE-AMALIA
early days raids by the buccaneers were not
uncommon. Furthermore, no authentic record
has ever been found that John Teach resided upon
St. Thomas. It will be seen, therefore, that this
interesting old residence, one of the first built in
Charlotte-Amalia and one of the very few remain-
ing to-day that hark back to the settlement of the
island, cannot lay claim to having been the abode
of the interesting and notorious buccaneer.
The cold historical facts about the castle are
that it was built by one Charles Baggaert, one
of the more turbulent of Governor Iversen’s col-
onists, probably in order to annoy the governor.
The “absconder from Middelburg,” as Baggaert
is called in some of the early reports written by
Iversen, built himself a house upon the hill over-
looking the lately-erected Christian’s Fort. Iver-
sen complained bitterly about Baggaert’s residence
that “‘it is not advantageous to the fort that Bag-
gaert built his house so much higher than the
fort, in so much that everyone who comes to see
him can completely overlook it.” This remark
of the governor gives one an interesting sidelight
on the strategic value of Christian’s Fort.
One of the few authentic stories of the activity
83
THE VIRGIN ISLANDS
of buccaneers in the Virgin Islands is told in the
Calendar of State Papers, Colonial Series, America
and the West Indies. In 1682 Jean Hamlin cap-
tured the merchant vessel La Trompeuse, refitted
her as a man-of-war, and made a piratical cruise
in the Caribbean. For a time he made his head-
quarters at St. Thomas, whose governor not only
winked at his misdeeds but received him as a
friend. From St. Thomas, during the early months
of 1688, raids were made on a number of English
merchantmen. Then came an expedition to Africa,
in which seventeen Dutch and English sloops were
captured. On July 27 La Trompeuse returned to
St. Thomas. The story of what happened next
is told by C. H. Haring in “The Buccaneers in
the West Indies in the XVII Century”:
“They were admitted and kindly received by
the governor, and allowed to bring their plunder
ashore. Three days later Captain Carlile of
H. M. S. Francis, who had been sent out by Gov-
ernor Stapleton to hunt for pirates, sailed into the
harbor, and on being assured by the pilot and by
an English sloop lying at anchor there that the
ship before him was the pirate La Trompeuse, in
the night of the following day he set her on fire
84
RAMBLES ABOUT CHARLOTTE-AMALIA
and blew her up. Hamlin and some of the crew
were on board, but after firing a few shots, escaped
to the shore. The pirate ship carried thirty-two
guns, and if she had not been under-manned Car-
lile might have encountered a formidable resist-
ance. The Governor of St. Thomas sent a note
of protest to Carlile for having, as he said, secretly
set fire to a frigate which had been confiscated to
the King of Denmark. Nevertheless he sent
Hamlin and his men for safety in a boat to another
part of the island, and later selling him a sloop,
let him sail away to join the French buccaneers in
Hispaniola. :
“The Danish governor of St. Thomas, whose
name was Adolf Esmit, had formerly been himself
& privateer, and had used his popularity on the
island to eject from authority his brother, Nicholas
Esmit, the lawful governor. By protecting and
encouraging pirates—for a consideration, of course
—he proved a bad neighbor to the surrounding
English islands. Although he had but three hun-
dred or three hundred and fifty people on St.
Thomas, and most of these British subjects, he
laid claim to all the Virgin Islands, harbored run-
away servants, seamen and debtors, fitted out
85
THE VIRGIN ISLANDS
pirate vessels with arms and provisions, and re-
fused to restore captured ships and crews which
the pirates brought into his port. The King of
Denmark had sent out a new governor, named
Iversen, to dispossess Esmit, but he did not arrive
in the West Indies until October, 1684, when, with
the assistance of an armed sloop which Sir William
Stapleton had been ordered by the English Council
to lend him, he took possession of St. Thomas and
its pirate governor.”
But even if St. Thomas is not celebrated in the
annals of the buccaneers, the residents are not
slow to put forward claims to piratical distinction.
On Luchetti’s Hill—which was named after an
Italian consul—is another so-called buccaneers’
stronghold, Bluebeard’s Castle. Again the ‘cold
light of historical research has to dispel the haze of
romance. Bluebeard’s Castle was built in 1700
by the local government and served as an addi-
tional fortification to defend the town. It was
named Frederik’s Fort, and did not pass out of
" government hands until it was acquired by a Mr.
Luchetti in the first part of the nineteenth cen-
tury. Local. tradition states that there is an
underground passage between Bluebeard’s and
86
RAMBLES ABOUT CHARLOTTE-AMALIA
Blackbeard’s castles. If so, the early colonists not
only were expert miners, but must have possessed
boundless patience, superfluous energy and a won-
derful lack of common sense to drill a useless tunnel
down a hill three hundred feet high, through about
a mile of solid rock, and up another hill two hun-
dred feet. It would be hard indeed to say what
purpose such a passage could have served, and
there can be no doubt that this local belief has no
foundation of fact.
Christian’s Fort, built on the waterfront, was
used during the latter days of the Danish occupa-
tion as a police station and a jail for offenders
sentenced to less than two years’ imprisonment.
Although the fort was built in 1672 by Governor
Iversen, around the existing old Dutch fortifica-
tions, it looks today almost as it looked in the
_ seventeenth century, though a clock tower has
been added and the main entrance has been some-
what changed. It has, of course, no military value,
and only three small cannon defend its battlements.
At one time these were used for saluting purposes,
but it was found that their recoil damaged the
roof of the apartment underneath, and the prac-
tice was discontinued.
87
THE VIRGIN ISLANDS
For many years the fort was the official resi-
dence of the governor and other officials. Here
the Lutheran clergyman had his quarters, and the
church services were held in one of the rooms.
The pastor, in fact, had to obtain a military pass
from the governor before he was allowed to leave
the stronghold, so strict were the seventeenth cen-
tury regulations here.
The apartments, which are built around an
attractively-tiled courtyard, served as offices and
cells. There is only one dark cell found, and this
is used solely to quiet obstreperous prisoners when
they become violent and abusive. Incarceration
in this cell soon calms them; the gloom appears to
depress the spirits of men of a sunlight-loving race.
The prisoners are employed on road work, but they
are treated mildly and they have but short working
hours.
Until a few years ago, one of the rooms of the
fort also served as a depository for the currency of
the local bank, and the archives of the government
offices were also safeguarded here. .
The most attractive aspect of the fort is from
the waterfront. A small balcony in one corner,
decorated with potted flowers, offers a curious con-
88
RAMBLES ABOUT CHARLOTTE-AMALIA
trast to a supposedly frowning fortress. This
balcony was part of the residence of the assistant-
policemaster. A visit to the fort is well worth
while, for it offers a great deal to interest the
tourist.
On the waterfront, under the fort, is a saluting
battery of twelve pieces. From here are returned
the salutes given to the governor by visiting war-
ships on entering the harbor. The time gun also
is fired here. During the Danish rule this gun was
fired at five in the morning, at noon, and again at
eight in the evening. No satisfactory explanation
for the firing of the gun at these hours has ever
been given. No one thinks of getting up at five
in the morning in happy-go-lucky Charlotte-
Amalia, and no one thinks of going to bed at
eight o’clock in the pleasure-loving town. The
noon gun was noticeable only for its inaccuracy,
its being sometimes five minutes fast and again
five minutes slow. With gunpowder so high, it is
hard to understand why the formality of these
detonations was not dispensed with.
There is also on the waterfront a little park,
called Emancipation Park. In its center stands a
noble bust of the beloved Danish king, Christian
89
THE VIRGIN ISLANDS
IX. Here the excellent little native band plays
twice a week. Yet another small park in the town
is known by a name more utilitarian than beautiful,
“Coconut Square.” This park also is most attrac-
tive with its native shrubs and bougainvillea trees.
Near Emancipation Park and Christian’s Fort
are the large barracks of the gendarmerie, erected
in 1829. These can house two hundred or more
soldiers, but during the latter days of the Danish
occupation it was necessary to keep only about,
sixteen gendarmes on the island.
There is one theatre, the Apollo Theatre, in
Coconut Square. This is seldom used, for traveling
theatrical companies do not find it profitable to
come to St. Thomas. Local entertainments are
held here, and it is probable that, since so many
American sailors and marines are to be stationed
on the island, the building will be used frequently
for motion pictures.
As mentioned, the sanitary conditions of
Charlotte-Amalia as a whole are extremely good
and there is little disease. An excellent hospital
was built by the Danish Government, with all
up-to-date appliances. Nurses and physicians were
sent out from the mother country.
90
RAMBLES ABOUT CHARLOTTE-AMALIA
The large parade ground, which lies on the east-
ern limits of the town, is fringed with a wonderful
array of mahogany trees. In former days, this was
used for the military parades of the garrison. To-day
games such as cricket and football are played here.
It is one of the pleasant customs of Charlotte-
Amalia to welcome its more popular returning sons
with the strains of its little band, which will be
assembled upon the landing-wharf on their arrival;
and this welcome is typical of the spirit of the kind-
ly, hospitable town. In fact, there is no hospitality
like that found in Charlotte-Amalia. It is the de-
light of the inhabitants to welcome the stranger
within their gates, not only with words, but also
with gifts of the wonderful flowers that are raised
on the island. Unpopular indeed is the lady visi-
tor, coming with proper introductions, who is not
greeted every other morning or so by a dusky
servitor with an enormous bouquet of roses or
lilies such as a New York florist would envy, and
the message: ‘‘Mrs. So-and-So’s compliments.”
The word “compliments” is extensively used by
these happy people; it designates greetings, love
and thoughtful kindness such as is not often found
elsewhere.
Q1
THE VIRGIN ISLANDS
Travelers may speak as they will of the delights
of the floral tributes of Hawaii; these cannot com-
pare with the offerings made by the St. Thomians
to their visiting friends. The custom is not re-
stricted to the upper classes, for it is no unusual
thing for the servants to bring flowers to their
employers. This is not done in any spirit of
sycophancy, but only from a warm-hearted desire
to please.
And then the dinners and festivities provided
for the visitor! It is almost impossible to escape
from them, and the more formal affairs make one
think of the eighteenth century ceremonial ban- .
quets. Old wines are produced from the cellars,
toasts are drunk, and wonderful food is prepared
for these feasts by old negro cooks from whose
looks none would suspect an ability to produce
the most Lucullean dishes without the aid of a
cook book!
Happy indeed is life in Charlotte-Amalia. Any
right-minded visitor cannot but feel a thrill in
later years when memories come to him of days
spent on “the blessed island.”
Curious old-time customs still prevail in the
town. On Christmas night carols are sung in the
92
RAMBLES ABOUT CHARLOTTE-AMALIA
streets and native bands circulate through the town
with the singers. Most of the singers in these
bands play on the flute, the guitar or an instru-
ment called a “scratchy-scratch.” This latter in-
strument is made from a long calabash upon which
grooves have been cut which, when scraped with
a piece of wire, produce a weird sound that does
not go badly with the other instruments. The
voices of the negroes, while a trifle melancholy,
are not unmusical.
New Year’s Day is the great festival. Singing
and dancing take place in the streets, beginning as
early as three in the morning. At daybreak the
performers join in a body under the balcony of the
governor’s residence and the official in charge is
supposed to appear and make a speech. Then
eatables and drinkables are distributed among the
merry-makers, and a small amount of money is
‘given to each. Later,in the day the streets are
filled with the so-called “maskers”—natives who
have dressed themselves in carnival costumes, and
who, in small bands, visit their friends and em-
ployers to wish them the compliments of the
season and, incidentally, to receive some liquid
refreshment. The performers are well-mannered
93
THE VIRGIN ISLANDS
and not too noisy, and the police do not often find
it necessary to interfere with their merry-making.
Although of late years the trade of St. Thomas
has fallen off sadly, a number of steamship lines
still call at the port regularly. The Quebec Steam-
ship Company’s steamers arrive bi-monthly from
New York and on their return voyage from the
Leeward Islands and the Guyanas again touch
here. The motor-ships of the East-Asiatic Com-
pany call on their way to Denmark from Oriental
ports by way of the Panama Canal. The inter-
colonial steamer of the Compagnie Generale Trans-
atlantique, trading between Martinique, Guadeloupe,
Porto Rico, Santo Domingo and Cuba touches at
St. Thomas on both its outward and homeward-
bound voyage. The Leyland Line ships put into
the port every six weeks on the way from England
to Jamaica. The Bull-Insular Line comes here
every two weeks with a small steamer to obtain
freight for its large cargo-vessels plying between
Porto Rico and New York and to bring passengers
to St. Thomas and receive passengers for Porto
Rico. In addition to these, many cargo-ships call
in order to obtain coal for their bunkers. A small
motor-vessel also makes weekly trips to Fajardo
04
RAMBLES ABOUT CHARLOTTE-AMALIA
from Porto Rico and carries the mail in both
directions.
Before the outbreak of the European War a
far larger number of steamship companies made
St. Thomas a regular port of call. The Hamburg-
American Line, which established its chief depot
in the Antilles on St. Thomas, had as many
as fifteen steamers per month during the first six
months of 1914. Accurate figures are not available
as to the number or tonnage of vessels now calling
at the port, but, in order to obtain an idea of the
facilities offered by this excellent harbor, it may
be stated that in 1918 two hundred vessels called
here, while during the first half of 1914 this num-
ber was materially increased. Since the outbreak
of the European War, a large percentage of the
St. Thomians have been thrown out of work and
have been forced to leave the island because of
the decrease in the number of arriving steamers.
There are six docks on the waterfront from
which coal can be supplied to ships, or where cargo
can be discharged or taken on board. Vessels
drawing up to thirty-one feet of water can moor
alongside these docks. In addition to these facili-
ties an anchorage for an incredibly large number
95
THE VIRGIN ISLANDS
of ships can be found in the harbor itself, and these
can be discharged by means of lighters owned by
private companies and steamship agents. In 1867
a floating dry-dock was launched. This had a
lifting capacity of three thousand tons. It failed
to work, and was not repaired and put into active
operation until 1875. Since then it has lifted over
eleven hundred large ships. This dock is generally
used by the smaller steamers which ply around
the islands of Santo Domingo and Porto Rico, and
those in inter-insular service in the northern part
of the Leeward Islands. The only other docks in
the West Indies are at Trinidad, Havana and
Jamaica. For this reason, St. Thomas can depend
upon a steady amount of work of this character.
. Various shipyards offer facilities for the dock-
ing of small sailing vessels and the repairing of the
machinery of steamers.
A cable comes to St. Thomas from Jamaica and
Panama and connects this island with the Leeward
Islands, so that there is telegraphic communica-
tion with all parts of the world. The two excellent
little newspapers published in the island, one a
daily paper, the other and larger one a bi-weekly,
obtain their foreign news from the bulletins pro-
96
RAMBLES ABOUT CHARLOTTE-AMALIA
vided by this cable company. Another cable
connects St. Thomas with the island of St. Croix.
This cable was laid by the Danish Government and
was used principally for government business.
There is no telegraphic communication between
St. Thomas and St. John.
St. Thomas does a fair amount of inter-colonial
trade, and, since its acquisition by the United
States the local merchants look for a substantial
increase in their business. In the year preceding
the sale of the islands, more of this island’s foreign
trade of St. Thomas went -to the United States
than to any other country. During the fiscal year
ending March $1, 1916, the total trade amounted
to $784,680. In this amount the United States
shared to the extent of $332,286. Imports at St.
Thomas constitute about seventy per cent. of the
total imports for all three islands.
CHAPTER V
THE ISLAND OF BEAUTIFUL VIEWS
TO “MA FOLIE” ON PONYBACK—FINDING HIDDEN TREAS-
URES ON THE SHORES OF MAGENS BAY—WHAT THE
KITCHEN-MIDDENS REVEALED~—AN ABANDONED SUGAR
ESTATE AND A RUINED MISSION STATION—A HUNTERS’
PARADISE—MORE ABANDONED ESTATES AND A HAUNTED
RUIN—CURIOUS CEMETERY ORNAMENTS—THE “GRAVE-
YARD OF SHIPS” AND A GHOSTLY ARRAY OF FIGURE-
HEADS—ESCAPING SLAVES AND PICTURESQUE “CHA-CHAS”
O learn thoroughly the island of St.
Thomas one must either be a good
pedestrian or obtain a sure-footed pony.
There are practically no carriage roads. The only
roads which allow a fairly long drive lead from
Charlotte-Amalia to Brewer’s Bay, about three
miles west of the town, or from Charlotte-Amalia
to Water Bay, about five miles east. This latter
road, however, is none too good, and it has some
stiff hills which make a strong horse a necessity.
But what St. Thomas lacks in carriage roads it
makes up in attractive mountain trails and bridle
paths. .
Perhaps the first excursion which a visitor with
plenty of time at his disposal should take is to Ma
Folie, an estate lying upon one of the crests of the
98
f=
="
Ae (ony
|
a '
be aie
=a
eo wx
ee
A=
ay 1 |)
—_—)
Fal
nw 4 oe
a3
~>
[=
hn
i)
-—.
Hj
==
fi
=
pa
——
=p BI
Ly
=~
: fg
ce 7
SED S,presganig que [TA S,N2qIN'] ‘suns UY 4yOT UO ‘puy yo] UO afsUD s,prvaqyoeig Gye [TH IeurassA0N qSry OF [TA sloUKPEC
WTIOd SI NMOL FHL HOIHM NOdA STIIH UNO SLI JO AAUHL AONV VYIVWV-EZLLOTUVHO ONIMOHS ‘AOGUVH SVNOHL ‘LS JO MALA OINVAONVd
- aa —_ eye ° yo
THE ISLAND OF BEAUTIFUL VIEWS
main mountain range of the island, on which can
be seen the stone obelisk erected by the Brazilian
astronomers when they established a station to
observe the transit of Venus in 1882. The owner
of this estate seems to have been aware of the
futility of going in for agriculture on the precipi-
tous slopes of his land, and named it “My Folly”
in consequence.
The road leading to Ma Folie makes a stiff
ascent from the town, but the view from the sum-
mit well pays for all the labor involved. It is
always possible on St. Thomas to obtain hardy
little ponies suitable for and accustomed to the
mountain trails, and they can be hired at small
cost. It is well, though, to try out a hired animal
on a level stretch before using him on a steep path.
The summit of Ma Folie once reached, there
is spread out what is perhaps one of the most
wonderful views in the Antilles. Directly below,
one sees the town of Charlotte-Amalia and the
harbor of St. Thomas with its variety of ships of
all nationalities. In the far distance Buck Island
and Frenchman’s Cap can be seen, and on clear
days the mountains of the island of St. Croix. To
the west, Culebra and Vieques seem to beckon the
99
THE VIRGIN ISLANDS
visitor toward the misty elevation of the mainland
of Porto Rico. To the north, the seas seem studded
with little islands. Hans Lollik, Little Hans Lollik,
Outer Brass, Inner Brass, and the Cockroach and
Cricket resemble nothing so much as emeralds in
an azure setting. To the east an even larger num-
ber of cays and islands are visible, and even Virgin
Gorda of the British Virgin Islands looms up,
while Sage Mountian on Tortola is a prominent
feature. The bays and inlets on St. Thomas itself
astound with their beauty the visitor unaccus-
tomed to the blues of West Indian seas and the
cream-colored sands of the shores.
A road leads both east and west from Ma
Folie. Following this road to the eastward the
tourist comes to the Louisenhéh estate and to a
road named the King Road which leads, by way
of the Canaan estate, to the wonderful Magens
Bay. Of all the scenic splendors on the island, this
bay stands alone. Its waters run through all shades
and variations, from a delicate green to a sapphire
blue, and its fringe of white beach forms a vivid
contrast to the brown and gray of the rocks on the
peninsula of Picara which forms its eastern
boundary.
100
THE ISLAND OF BEAUTIFUL VIEWS
It was on the shores of this bay that the expe-
dition sent out by the Museum of the American
Indian, Heye Foundation, of New York City, was
successful in locating the remains of the village
site of the aboriginal tribe that lived on the
island previous to the coming of the Spanish
discoverers.
There can be no doubt that Magens Bay was
an ideal location for the Indian village. In the
first place the bay is well sheltered, with the excep-
tion of northerly storms, and its sloping, sandy
beach made the hauling up of canoes an easy
matter. Then the presence of the giant Ceiba
(cottonwood) trees on the hill slopes near by
assured the Indians of an unfailing supply of
material for their dug-out canoes.
The waters of Magens Bay abound not only
with shell food but with fish of all kinds. Birds
and bird-eggs and the now extinct Isolobodon por-
toricensis (a mammal about the size of a rabbit)
helped to supply the Indian’s wants for animal
food. And the hills and valleys to the back of
Magens Bay undoubtedly served admirably for the
cultivation of cassava, yucca and the hundred and
one fruits that make life delightful in the West
101
7
THE VIRGIN ISLANDS
Indies. Pools and springs furnished the Indian
household with the required water.
To fix the actual location of the Magens Bay
village site was a difficult matter, for the dense
brush. with which the shores of the bay was cov-
ered made the search for low mounds almost
impossible. Minute pottery fragments were widely
scattered, byt, as the water courses which exist
in the Magens Bay valley during the rainy season
undoubtedly were responsible for the distribution
of these fragments, they did not serve as a guide
to the spot where excavations were to begin.
At last an uprooted tree solved the problem.
An examination of the cavity left by the roots of
a large “turpentine tree” which had been over-
turned by the recent hurricane, brought to light
many shells and several large postsherds. Then
the realization came that, since the days of the
aborigines, the entire Magens Bay valley had been
covered by a two foot deposit of diluvium, and
that in consequence it was of no use to look for
hummocks or mounds of pre-historic origin on the
surface of a valley covered and made almost level
by the decomposed humus.
Owing to the dense undergrowth, it was found
102
es
—=—
Ae
“1
ca i
f
“~
anne
"
=
3
=
és
A
ra!
=
af
ae A
we...
~~
, ly
ae
~
eS
Lv
i
ae /
—
ae.
a
yD
Av
“=
a
po
Py
ry
at
\
ate
4 “i ~
} :
a5
44
~,? *
=,
t:
or
cs
wa
7
> Bh
oe
of
Ly
2
Nar
v
‘ vir
# AY
> &
ea
av fi
2 ee a)
*ih
Vs
ae
~—
pe
Uae YT
ye
nN
Avg jo qyNoyY Ur ABD ssvag 13jNG puv y4ZIYy UO YUIOg BIBdIY FULMONG
SVROHL ‘LS dO LSVOD HLYON ‘XV@ SNADVA JO MIA OINVHONVd
.
ue.
THE ISLAND OF BEAUTIFUL VIEWS
necessary to employ a gang of men to chop down
the brushwood and smaller trees and then to burn
them. When the ground was cleared, it became
possible to observe the presence of a ten foot high
mound which merged with the slope of a small
hill against which it lay.
Excavations were started in this mound by a
considerable number of workmen and a trench was
commenced which had a semi-circular shape, a
width of about seventy-five feet and a breadth of
perhaps thirty feet. The eastern slope of this
mound was limited by the slope of the hill, and the
western slope was terminated by a little path
which ran through the undergrowth. The mound,
as has been stated, was almost indiscernible; it
was impossible to make out where the mound
stopped and the hill slope began until after the
excavations had been made. In fact, had it not
been for the fallen tree, it might have been a long
time before the expedition would have started
excavations in this particular spot, because the
appearance of the ground made one think more of
a hill slope than of a pre-Columbian deposit.
The process of digging for prehistoric treasures
of Indian pottery is interesting. First a trench
103
THE VIRGIN ISLANDS
some thirty feet wide was made in an easterly
direction, toward the slope of the hill. Then a
hole some six feet wide was dug over the entire
length of the trench—in this instance thirty feet—
and from this an excavation was made down to
the original bottom which existed before the form-
ing of the Indian mound. While making such a
hole, it is difficult to prevent breakage of the
artifacts that may be found, as work with a pick
and shovel in a perpendicular direction is not con-
ducive to the preservation of specimens of a friable
nature. Once the hole is made, however, the work-
men are able to proceed in a straight direction by
undermining the wall of the trench in the lowest
part of the excavation. It will then be found that
the earth, shells and ashes will fall down by their
own weight and it becomes an easy matter to pick
the Indian specimens from the debris. The bottom
of the excavation is always kept as clean as pos-
sible so that smaller artifacts, such as stone beads
and amulets, can be the more easily discovered.
The formation of an Indian kitchen-midden,
or refuse heap, is a curious process. In the Magens
Bay middens, beginning on the surface, one finds
a deposit, about two feet thick, of diluvium. This
104
THE ISLAND OF BEAUTIFUL VIEWS
deposit is somewhat lighter in color than those
immediately below. The diluvium or humus was
formed in the course of centuries, after the Indians
had abandoned the site, by a decomposition of
the leaves, branches, roots, et cetera, that fell upon
the surface of the mound. The grasses growing
upon the surface formed a kind of sod, and, what
with this and the intertwining of the roots of the
trees and bushes, the first layer was quite tough,
and hard enough to dig in. Under the first layer
came two others, both of these being about three
feet thick.
These latter layers were constituted of a mix-
ture of humus, ashes, charcoal, artifacts, shells and
the bones of such animals as were eaten by the
Indians. Occasionally a burial was found in the
lower of the two layers, but fully eighty per
cent. of the burials were found in the sea sand di-
rectly under the two layers caused by the Indian
occupation.
While the majority of the artifacts found i in the
two layers directly under the diluvial deposit were
the fragments of broken vessels, there were some-
times entire vessels. In the: majority of cases
these vessels accompanied burials, and, in conse-
105
THE VIRGIN ISLANDS
quence, had been buried entire. Probably they
were filled with food stuffs which were to serve
the departed for his journey to the Great Beyond.
But sometimes a vessel would turn up in the
Magens Bay deposits which was not accompanied
by a burial. Probably this had been discarded
by its Indian owner, owing to a flaw in the ware,
or else had been buried accidentally under a mound
of shells.
The Indians probably deposited their dead in
the original surface of sea sand some seven feet
below the surface of the mound. The practise
of burials in the floors of dwellings was not uncom-
mon on many of the West Indian islands, as has
been proven by the researches of other investi-
gators. Of the nime burials that were found on
the Magens Bay site, seven were of adults and
two of children. Six of the burials were accom-
panied by mortuary vessels, but outside of these
vessels no other objects were found with the dead.
The vessels were of the plainest construction,
without decoration, and so were in great contrast
to the elaborately decorated vessels that are found
on the islands to the westward, Porto Rico and
Santo Domingo. Judging from these and from
106
“*
“=
~~
%
PS
_
a ng
—
wo ¢
tS
<#.
—
-,
‘$
-
mA
4
CROSS-SECTION OF ABORIGINAL MOUND, MAGENS
BAY, 8T. THOMAS
a
~ Me
wa
—-
KING ROAD, NEAR MAGENS BAY, ST. THOMAS
7
Ay
oy
\
We
4
yn
¥
#
°*
~~
he
M
Mi
hy
he
Mid
|
| ;
ie
2.“
"*
oe
a
4
~t
waee
CLEARING LAND Bt FIRE, MAGENS BAY, 8ST. THOMAS
ay
ot
ope
ans
Wes
-,
——
wi
!
ae
a © 7
re
—
wa
(Ne
\e!
a
awe
>», +
it~
~~
wer 2
a a
ae
LABORERS EXCAVATING IN PRE-HISTORIC DEPOSITS, MAGENS BAY, ST. THOMAS
THE ISLAND OF BEAUTIFUL VIEWS
other objects found in the deposits, the aborigines
of St. Thomas were decidedly not of Arawak
stock.
The only other aboriginal deposit found on
St. Thomas was an extensive shell-heap on Krum
Bay, on the south coast of the island. No Indian
specimens were found in this, and the only plaus-
ible theory to account for the presence of these
shells is that the Indians went from the north
coast over the mountain ridge to Krum Bay to
fish for these shells, opened them on the spot, and
then carried the mollusks to their homes at Magens
Bay. An extensive and thorough survey of the
bays of the island convinced the expedition that
no other village site could be found on St. Thomas.
An exploration of the valley of Magens Bay
will reveal the ruins of the buildings of a forgotten
plantation, “‘Eenigheit,” which was erected by the
earliest Dutch settlers. These remains are known
to but few present-day inhabitants of the island,
and one has considerable difficulty in locating them.
They lie about half a mile inland. Near the shore
is some other masonry, as well as an old cannon
or two. Evidently the canny Dutch settlers did
not seem inclined to live here without taking
107
THE VIRGIN ISLANDS
necessary precaution against the raids of sea rovers
and assaults from other enemies.
Another most attractive road, to the eastward
of Charlotte-Amalia, leads by the extensive ruins
of what once was one of the largest sugar estates
of the island. What is now used as pasture land
for the herds that provide the town with its daily
supply of fresh milk was at one time a waving
field of sugar-cane. Here is practically the only
level area of any extent that can be found on
St. Thomas. The remains of an abandoned wind-
mill speak of the days when the sugar-cane was
ground by the rollers of a mill operated by the
sea breezes or by the mules which walked in an
unceasing circle. The juice from the cane ran
into open kettles under which were enormous fires,
and the heat brought about the evaporation of
the sugar. From a modern point of view this
method would be considered wasteful and expen-
sive, but that it was profitable in the eighteenth
century is proven by the ruins of the hand-
some residence which the planters were able to
erect.
Continuing along this road, one comes to the
Moravian missionary station of New Hernhut, -
108
THE ISLAND OF BEAUTIFUL VIEWS
erected in 1787. The history of the estate and
of the Moravian Brethren on the island is inter-
esting. The first missionaries sent out were
received on sufferance by the planters, who were
violently opposed to the Brethren’s efforts to
improve the condition of their slaves.
A tree is still shown on St. Thomas under
which the Moravian services were held for a long
time, as the missionaries were too poor to erect a
building and no one on the island was kindly
enough disposed toward their efforts to lend them
one. Finally, in 1787, a benevolent planter
assisted them in purchasing a small estate, which
was named New Hernhut, after the Hernhut
Seminary whence the Brethren came.
Opposition to the Moravians grew, and the
planters finally forbade their slaves to attend their
services, fearing that the kindly treatment accorded
the unfortunate Africans might make them dis-
contented with their lot and lead to future revolts.
In spite of this opposition and many other trials,
the mission of New Hernhut prospered and to-day
the Moravians are a power for good.on the island.
One cannot but have great admiration for these
people, not only because they are earnest teachers
109
THE VIRGIN ISLANDS
of religion, but because they teach the natives the
use of tools.
The missionaries have always personally
assisted in the erection of their buildings and
are as adept in the handling of tools as they are
in expounding a theological doctrine. They owned
slaves for many years, but they liberated those
they held in 1844, four years before emancipation
became a fact by royal decree.
The New Hernhut station was severely dam-
aged by the hurricane of 1867 and was allowed to
fall into ruins. Since then the missionary in
charge has contented himself with humbler quar-
ters on the estate. There is a fairly large church,
as well as a school which is well patronized by the
natives who live in the neighborhood. Of the old
buildings, the ruins of the large kitchen are
especially noticeable.
After passing New Hernhut, the road leads by
the old Tutu Estate, another landmark of the
days when St. Thomas derived as great wealth
from its agriculture and its slaves as from the
- commerce that came to its harbor. The Tutu
Estate is situated on what is said to be one of the
healthiest spots on the island, and it is a favorite
110
“
~e
“«
hee’
a
rts
a». <
RUINS OF STAIRWAY, NEW HERNHUT MORAVIAN
MISSION STATION, ST. THOMAS
=
Ay
a.
et
ve
<>"
fw
sala
—
a
ne
=~
+r
ie
oe)
-
)
~
q,
ol
RUINS OF OLD MORAVIAN MISSION STATION, NEW HERNHUT, 8ST. THOMAS
-
>»
Ae.
af.
er ia
By
a)
~,
~/
a>
wf f
Tot
*)
s
~
at
Je
i *
>
\8
*)
oo
ais
<4
NZ
Be
=
if
‘
RUINS
OF MANDAL ESTATE, ST. THOMAS
——_-
a
—_
~
-
-
-
ed
NEGRO FISHING WITH CASTING NET, ST. THOMAS
THE ISLAND OF BEAUTIFUL VIEWS
recuperating resort for those worn out by the
summer heat in town.
The road finally leads to Water Bay, on the
east coast of the island, where is a small settle-
ment of fishermen who live in somewhat precarious
poverty. These natives pursue their calling in the
waters between St. Thomas and St. John and sell
their catch in the market of Charlotte-Amalia.
Water Bay, like all bays of these regions,
abounds with pelicans, and it is interesting to
watch the graceful dives of these seemingly clumsy
birds, made in order to obtain their quota of food.
Their method of fishing differs from that frequently
employed by the local fishermen, who have be-
come expert in the use of a peculiar type of casting
net, shaped like a parachute, the outside edge
weighted with leaden balls. The fisherman wades
into the water and detects a school of small fish.
With an indescribably quick motion he then throws
the net—which has been carefully folded into
small compass—in such a manner that it opens
out and drops on the school of fish. The fish, becom-
ing entangled in the meshes, are the fisherman’s
property.
In this region and in the Red Hook district the
111
THE VIRGIN ISLANDS
followers of Nimrod and Isaac Walton can find
ample opportunity to satisfy their desire for sport.
European fallow-deer were imported by some of
the early European settlers and can still be found
and hunted, although there are so few left and
they have become so wild that hunting them
becomes an arduous sport indeed. At certain
times of the year pigeons abound and make excel-
lent shooting, especially at dusk when they fly
from the woods, where they have been gathering
berries, to. their nests in the mangrove trees.
Ducks are also found on some of the small ponds
and lagoons.. At any time of the year one can
hunt a large variety of the delicious wood-dove,
which is found in considerable numbers.
Because of the importation of the East Indian
mongoose other birds have become scarce. This
supposedly useful animal, after finding that the
rats he was to destroy did not offer as easy a prey
as the young birds and that the birds’ eggs were
quite to his liking, turned his attention to these.
Soon he was successful in annihilating the greater
part of the bird life of the island.
One occasionally sees the agouti (Dasyprocta
agoutt) on the island. A few of these small Brazil-
112
THE ISLAND OF BEAUTIFUL VIEWS
ian mammals, which resemble an overgrown guinea
pig, must, at some forgotten time, have been set
loose on the island by a practical joker. They
have multiplied wonderfully.
To the south of Water Bay the entire east —
coast of St. Thomas is barren and dry. But little
water is found here, and the vegetation resembles
that of an arid tropical region. Those of the
people who keep cattle or horses are obliged to go
elsewhere for fodder. It is their usual practice to
procure grass for their animals on Thatch Cay,
bringing this home in their canoes.
There are in circulation many stories regarding
the presence of piratical treasure on Thatch Cay,
and every once in awhile some enthusiastic St.
Thomians will repair here and spend time in
arduous excavations of parts of the cay. Up to
date, however, these efforts have not been crowned
with success, and it is more than probable that
the treasure will forever remain lost to posterity.
Another charming excursion that can be taken
to the east of Charlotte-Amalia is a trip to the
old Windberg Estate, with a further trip to the
summit of Windberg itself. Windberg was well
named ‘Windy Hill” by the first planter who
8 113
THE VIRGIN ISLANDS
owned land here, as even on the most sultry days
- there is upon its crest a constant chilly breeze
But little remains of the old building, which was
_ one of the first and most important plantation
houses on the island. The walls and upper stories
of the “Great House,” as the owner’s residence
was always called in slave times, have been blown
down by the successive hurricanes since the estate
was left uncultivated after the abolition of slavery.
But a tesselated floor of imported marble speaks
volumes for the ease and luxury in which the
old-time settlers lived, and the ruins of an enormous
bake oven alongside the kitchen tell of the hos-
pitality for which St. Thomas was famous.
After examining the remains of the house, the
traveler does well to make the precipitous ascent
of the hill itself. Elevated perhaps twelve hun-
dred feet above sea level, its crest offers a view to
the eastward over St. John and the British Virgin
Islands that rivals in beauty the seascape observed
from Ma Folie. And even if the little trail is hard
to ascend, and one lives in fear that one’s pony
may slip while clambering upward, every visitor
to the island should make the climb; it will prove
a never-to-be-forgotten experience.
114
THE ISLAND OF BEAUTIFUL VIEWS
After visiting Windberg, instead of returning
by the same road, it is possible to take a road to
the north coast and to return by the King Road to
Magens Bay. This route leads past the Mandal
Estate, where the unusually large ruins of an
ancient sugar factory again speak of the former
agricultural resources of St. Thomas. It is popu-
larly believed by the natives that these ruins were
at one time inhabited by an unfortunate sufferer
from that dread tropical disease, leprosy, and that
he died here in solitude and still haunts the spot.
One cannot hire a St. Thomian of the lower classes
to pass this road after nightfall, and even in the
light of day those who are really superstitious
unconsciously hasten their footsteps and show a
desire to pass this spot as quickly as possible.
In this district the hill slopes are covered with
large forests of turpentine trees, perhaps the least
attractive of West Indian trees, and certainly the
most worthless of the flora of the Antilles. They
have gawky, brown limbs and trunk, and one
wonders to what use they can be put, or why an
attractive landscape should be spoiled by their
presence. The wood contains too much resin to
make the tree of use for lumber, and yet the
115
THE VIRGIN ISLANDS
quantity is not enough to make the extraction of
turpentine profitable. Furthermore, wherever for-
ests of these trees are found, other vegetation seems
to languish. The presence of these trees is there-
fore rather undesirable and a detriment to an
estate.
Before reaching the road leading down to
Magens Bay, the visitor passes an estate named
Lovenlund, which is now used for the raising of
cattle.
In addition to the routes named, a multitude
of small trails over the hills offer interesting
excursions to the visitor to the eastern part of the
island. Each trip he takes makes him eager for
the pleasures that can be found in further explora-
tions of the bypaths with a good horse.
The excursions to be made west on St. Thomas
are also of great interest. On leaving the out-
skirts of the town, the traveler first passes the
three different cemeteries that are kept in order
by various congregations. Perhaps one of the most
curious customs of the island is the manner in
which the graves are ornamented. No rocks are
found locally that are sufficiently hard and durable
to serve as tombstones, so a St. Thomian makes
116
e
a ey|
|
_
—
—H*
ere
a “GUT” AND STREET MADE LIKE A STAIRWAY
CHARLOTTE-AMALIA
»
a7
I
21
ee
ke
oF
> =a)
—-
C00
%“>*
et SS of
\ 4
qf
4
4
>,
v
_™
ee >
T
is
qe
ee!
—
al
NATIVE GRAVE ORNAMENTED WITH CONCH SHELLS, 8ST. THOMAS
\*
™
aa
re.
a
r%
~—
24
<<
*) &>
at
-
a
—
FIGURE-READS OF
OLD SAILING VESSELS IN KRUM BAY SHIPYARD, ST. THOMAS
—
.
- —
Ss
>
.
—
~
a
=
=
+ oa
Tae
~
~*
a
KRUM BAY WITH SHIPYARD AND COCONUT DESTROYED BY HURRICANE
8ST. THOMAS
THE ISLAND OF BEAUTIFUL VIEWS
use of conch shells to ornament the graves of his
dear ones. These shells, the mouths of which are
a vivid pink, are set in the concrete edge surround-
ing the grave and they form a decoration that is
attractive even it if is somewhat unusual. On
some West Indian islands a cemetery is synonymous
with a thicket which has the appearance of an
abandoned jungle, but on St. Thomas the ceme-
teries indicate loving care. Even upon the most
humble grave may be seen a small bunch of flowers,
sometimes placed in a broken bottle. These
flowers show as much thought as the most elabo-
rate floral tribute on the graves of those whose
families are endowed with more worldly goods.
_ After passing these burying grounds, the road
branches to the north and to the south, and the
southern and more level road leads by another
Moravian missionary station named Niesky. This
is of somewhat later date than the New Hernhut
station, but is in far better preservation and to-day
is of more importance. Here is a very pretty little
church and an imposing three-storied residence for
the missionary in charge. There is also a school
of some one hundred and fifty pupils under direct
supervision of the missionary,
117
THE VIRGIN ISLANDS
The next point of interest on this road is Krum
Bay, where is the important supply station of the
West India and Panama Telegraph Company.
This station was practically totally destroyed by
the recent hurricane. Several of the smaller build-
ings were completely turned over and storehouses
with their valuable contents were greatly damaged.
A plantation of coconut trees suffered a like fate,
the tops of the trees being damaged to such an
extent that they will never again bear fruit.
The tanks in which the submarine cables are
kept in sea water, to prevent deterioration of their
rubber coverings, are an interesting sight. It is
a strange fact that rubber, which finds its origin
in tropical countries, does not withstand the cli-
matic conditions of the tropics once it has been
prepared. In consequence, cable companies in
these regions are forced to keep their spare cables
constantly submerged. ‘
Directly across from the station of the telegraph
company is the wrecking-yard which has made
Krum Bay famous to dozens of marine insur-
ance companies, and is of prime interest to
all visitors to the island. For years, whenever a
ship was forced to put into St. Thomas harbor in
118
THE ISLAND OF BEAUTIFUL VIEWS
distress, in a dismasted or leaking condition, it
was necessary for the agent of the underwriters to
decide whether the vessel was worth repairing by
the insurance companies, or if it should be written
off their books as a total loss. It is whispered
that on most occasions the inspectors found it
necessary to condemn a disabled vessel. The ves-
sel then was put up at public auction and sold for
& mere song. The next procedure was to take the
ship to Krum Bay, where it was stripped of its
valuable parts, such as rigging, winches, anchors,
masts, yards, et cetera. Then, if the ship was of
wood, it was burned in order to save the copper
nails and sheathing in its hull. Krum Bay, in
consequence, has often been named “the grave-
yard of ships,” and for many years it was held in
bad odor by the insurance companies.
Of late years, however, these conditions have
been changed, and the wrecking-yard pursues the
legitimate calling of providing missing parts for
storm-tossed ships which come to St. Thomas for
repairs.
The owner of the shipping yard has a small
museum of curiosities which he at different times
saved from ships, such as old style compasses,
119
THE VIRGIN ISLANDS
barometers, signal cannon, and a thousand and
one other articles found on ancient wind-jammers
before the advent of steam made navigation a
matter of exact science. Here also is a strange
collection of figure-heads from old sailing ships.
The owner has around his dwelling house and
repair shops perhaps eighteen or twenty of these
curious relics. On one side is Joan of Arc, a gaudily
dressed female who once was the pride ofa sailing
vessel of that name. Then a respectable old
gentleman in a white choker collar calls to mind an
old whaling captain, who not only gave his name
to the ship he owned but found it necessary to
embellish his command with his own effigy. An
American eagle speaks of the days when the fame
of clipper ships was undimmed, and a Pocahontas,
in conventional Indian dress with buckskin moc-
casins, brings to mind the picture of a staunch old
sailing vessel from a southern port.
The owner of the yard is inordinately fond of
these figure-heads and will not part with them at
any price. Every year he decorates his charges
with coats of paints of many hues, and he is only
too glad to relate their history to visitors who call
at his establishment.
120
THE ISLAND OF BEAUTIFUL VIEWS
The road ‘to the westward leads on to Mosquito
Bay, where there is opportunity for excellent sea
bathing. Beyond this comes Brewer’s Bay, one
of the most charming inlets on the island. The
road then ascends the mountain range, and, after
passing a few small settlements consisting of two
or three houses, finally comes to Botany Bay on
the extreme western end of the island. From
Botany Bay, in plantation days, escaping slaves
made their way to Porto Rico by way of the small
cays which lie between St. Thomas and Porto Rico.
They made the dangerous journey in canoes, which
they ‘either stole from their owners or found oppor-
tunity to manufacture. The returning of these
escaped slaves was always a matter of controversy
bets the Danish or Dutch owners and the
Spanish authorities on Porto Rico, since the latter
claimed that the slaves came to Porto Rico to be
baptized in the Catholic religion. This was their
excuse for retaining the valuable property. While
the slaves went to Porto Rico to escape the cruelties
of. Danish or Dutch owners, history does not state
that they received any kinder treatment from the
Spaniards, who were never noted for their gentle-
ness toward those they held in bondage.
121
THE VIRGIN ISLANDS
Throughout St. Thomas are small patches of
cultivated land which are tilled by the so-called
“cha-chas.” These patches are frequently located
on the precipitous slopes of the mountains and it
is a wonder that the roots of plants can take
hold there and that the agriculturists can keep
their balance while engaged in tilling the soil.
These cha-chas are white settlers who came origi-
nally from the Dutch and French Leeward Islands.
They have not intermarried with the negroes and
they live to themselves, resenting any outside
interference with their affairs. They are a hard
drinking race, yet they are among the most indus-
trious people on the island, and are especially good
canoemen. Their canoes are not much better than
boxes made from scraps of wood, but they manage
not only to get about in them but also to prevent
themselves from getting drowned. With their
ruddy faces, stiffly starched blue shirts, tight white
trousers and broad-brimmed straw hats of their
own manufacture, they present a curious and
unusual appearance.
CHAPTER VI
THE ROMANTIC STORY OF ST. JOHN
IN THE DAYS OF COMPANY RULE—ADVENTURES OF THE
FIRST SETTLERS—ENCOURAGEMENTS TO GROWERS OF
SUGAR-CANE—THE HARSH MEASURES THAT INCITED A
SLAVE INSURRECTION—A CAPTURED FORT, A SIEGE RE-
LIEVED AND GUERILLA WARFARE—THE AFTERMATH OF
THE REBELLION—INCREASING POPULATION
ISTORY does not tell the exact year in
H which St. John was settled. As early as
1687 the Danish West India and Guinea
Company seems to have laid claim not only to St.
Thomas but also to St. John and Crab (Vieques)
Islands; at any rate the appointment papers of
Governor Adolph Esmit, who succeeded Governor
Milan in that year, included all these islands under
his charge. This may, of course, have been an
idle claim on the part of the company and an
unwarranted assumption of authority over islands
to which they had no right. Three years earlier,
in 1684, with the aid of two merchants from Bar-
badoes, an attempt seems to have been made to
set up an establishment of a sort on St. John, but
Governor Stapleton of the Leeward Islands sent
two sloops and drove away the forty odd men that
had established themselves there.
123
THE VIRGIN ISLANDS
In 1688 the Governor of St. Thomas was in-
structed by the directors of the West India Com-
pany to place from four to six men on the island
of St. John and to encourage them to begin plant-
ing, but it was not until 1717 that these pl ‘ns were
actually carried out. In 1716 the governor of
St. Thomas wrote his directors that a number of
his charges were anxious to settle on St. John, but
that they were afraid to do so because the British
from Tortola would allow no one of another
nationality to go there and cut timber. In reply
the directors sent instructions that the British
claims to St. John were to be disregarded. Con-
sequently, in 1717, Governor Erik Bredal took
passage on an armed vessel with twenty planters,
sixteen negroes, five soldiers and one officer, and
landed on St. John in Coral Harbor Bay.
The governor afterwards reported the adven-
tures of the expedition, as follows:
“T have planted there the flag of our most gra-
cious king, and fired a salute, and then we feasted,
and drunk the health, first of our sovereign, and
then of the Company. Later, I selected a place
on which to build a fort and a level place beneath
it on which a village can stand. The harbor here
124
> an
—
(*
~y
y #
a/
a
Zz
b
™
fi
4,
~~ mee
d
Be
» ©
fe.
eo
o°o
fe
>
oz
ee,
: ae
~s
ze
<<
EA
ie
THE ROMANTIC STORY OF ST. JOHN
is quite secure and when a person is in it, he sees
land all about him. I have permitted the planters
to indicate which pieces of land they preferred and
have selected a place for the Company’s plantation
just a cannon-shot distance from the fort which
is to be built there. Later, the planters have
returned because of their fear of the English and
are simply waiting cautiously to see what the latter
will attempt.”
Although the planters returned to St. Thomas
in trepidation, fearing an invasion by the British,
the little garrison sent by the governor seems to
have been made of sterner stuff. The sixteen
negroes, helped by the five soldiers and commanded
by the Danish officer, cleared ground around the
site selected for the fort and made a road through
the brush on which to drag the nine-pounders that
were to be mounted on the redoubts.
When the discovery was made that the Danes
really intended to claim St. John and that, if
necessary, they were ready to defend their claim,
the governor of the Leeward Islands dispatched a
man-of-war to Charlotte-Amalia to remonstrate
with Governor Bredal and to intimidate him with
threats of an armed descent upon the infant colony.
125
~
THE VIRGIN ISLANDS
Bredal returned a message to the British authorities
that he was but following out the directions given
him from Copenhagen. Forthwith he notified his
directors of the threats that had been made, at
the same time pleading for the sending from Den-
mark of a reinforcement of a hundred men. Hav-
ing additional forces, he seems to have considered
that any British attempt to dislodge the new
settlement on St. John was doomed to failure.
St. John soon attracted other settlers from the
neighboring island of St. Thomas, as can be
gathered from the fact that by 1720 thirty-nine
planters had received deeds to estates on the
island. Exemptions from taxation were granted
for the first eight years of residence and settlers
were allowed to take as much lime and wood as
they wanted free of cost in order to enable them
to erect their buildings. They were requested to
set up their sugar mills within five years after the
land grant was made, and, in the event that they
did not carry out this stipulation, their property
was to revert to the West India Company. _
Not only did the new plantations prove to be
more productive than those on less fertile St.
Thomas, but grants of land to each settler were
126
THE ROMANTIC STORY OF ST. JOHN |
also fifty per cent. larger, so that it was not long
before prosperity began to show itself and the
island became a large sugar producing center.
The settlers were of all nationalities, but the
majority were of Dutch stock. Evidences of Dutch
blood on the island are not lacking to-day, as many
of the place-names are in the Dutch language.
In 1788 St. John had a population of two hundred
and eight whites and ten hundred and eighty-seven
negro slaves.
On November 18, 1788, a serious revolt of the
St. John slaves took place. This revolt was indi-
rectly due to the harsh measures adopted by Gov-
ernor Gardelin, who, in order to stop the escapes
of Africans to the neighboring island of Porto
Rico, published a proclamation which imposed dire
penalties for the punishment of offenders. The
leader of runaway slaves was to be pinched thrice
with red hot irons and then hung. Every runaway
slave was to lose one leg or one ear, or he was to
receive one hundred and fifty stripes in case his
owner preferred that he be given the latter punish-
ment. Any slave who knew of a plot to escape
and did not inform his master was to be punished
with a brand on the forehead as well as a hundred
127
THE VIRGIN ISLANDS
stripes. On the other hand, any slave who gave
information of a plot was to be rewarded with
ten dollars for every slave who proposed to take
part in the plan to gain liberty. Any slave who
lifted his hand against a white person was to be
hung, in case the white person made this demand;
if not, he was to lose his right hand. A slave who
attempted to poison his master was to be pinched
thrice with a red hot iron and then broken on the
wheel. The proclamation that told of these penal-
ties was to be repeated thrice a year to the beat of
the drum.
The slaves resented these terrible measures, and
soon an open revolt broke out. Secret prepara-
tions were made by them to surprise the garrison
of the little fort overlooking Coral Bay, which was
built in 1717. Here were stationed but eight sol-
diers, commanded by a sergeant, and one officer.
On the morning of November 28, 1733, the sentinel
observed at the entrance of the fort a small band
of negroes, carrying fagots of wood. When they
were challenged they said that they were coming
with wood for the soldiers. But as soon as the
negroes were inside the gate they dropped the
fagots and massacred the garrison with the large
128
THE ROMANTIC STORY OF ST. JOHN
cane-knives which had been hidden in the bundles.
Only one soldier, who had hidden himself under a
bed, escaped. Having disposed of the garrison,
the victorious negroes gave the signal for a general
massacre by firing three shots from the cannon
on the fortifications. The murderous rebels then
proceeded to the Caroline Estate, where they killed
the judge of the island and his daughter, with
twenty-five other men, women and children.
In the meantime many of the planters, together
with their families and such slaves as remained
faithful to them, had betaken themselves to the
estate of Peter Duerloo, called Little Cinnamon
Bay, now known as K. C. Bay, on the northwest
corner of the island. As the estate was built on an
eminence and defended by two small cannon, the
refugees felt that they could defend themselves
there against the embittered slaves. Another ad-
vantage was that they were within easy reach of
St. Thomas. The women and children were sent by
canoes to places of safety on nearby cays, while the
men put their defenses in order and sent an urgent
plea for assistance to the governor of St. Thomas.
A number of revolting slaves soon arrived at
the Duerloo estate, but they suffered severely
9 129
THE VIRGIN ISLANDS
from a discharge of grapeshot which killed a num-
ber of them. Noting the preparations which had
been made for defense, they could not summon
enough courage to attempt to rush the improvised
fort.
Not long afterwards a boat with some eighteen
soldiers arrived from St. Thomas. The governor
also dispatched a larger body of troops to Coral
Bay, on the other end of the island. After travers-
ing the island these troops relieved the siege of
Little Cinnamon Bay.
For a time the revolting slaves were in com-
mand of the situation. With the exception of
Duerloo’s estate, the entire island of St. John was
at their mercy. There was much pillaging and
burning of estate houses and sugar factories; prac-
tically every estate suffered. Two attempts were
made by the St. Thomas government to put an
end to the uprising and to restore St. John to its
legitimate owners. The authorities first secured
the services of the captain of a British man-of-war
that was just then paying a visit to Tortola. Land-
ing forces from this frigate were ambushed by the
negroes and were forced to withdraw with the loss
of four wounded.
180
THE ROMANTIC STORY OF ST. JOHN
Early in 1784, another British force of volun-
teers from the island of Nevis attempted to dis-
lodge the rebels, but these troops also suffered
defeat with a loss of three men killed and five
wounded, and left theisland quicker thanthey came.
During all these months, the slaves were in
possession of the Coral Bay fort, which they seemed
determined to hold at all odds, in spite of the fact
that their supply of gunpowder was running low
and that they had no means of obtaining a fresh
stock.
Becoming desperate, the colonists finally ap-
pealed to the governor of the French island of La
Martinique. _ This governor was informed that his
men would be allowed to keep four-fifths of all the
rebels captured, while the Danes would retain the
remainder in order to punish them as an example
and a warning to the slaves on St. Thomas in case
they felt inclined to attempt a similar revolt. Two
French barks were promptly dispatched with a
body of two hundred and twenty men. To this
force was added a Danish contingent, made up of
the majority of the local soldiers, numerous planters
and seventy-four loyal slaves from St. Thomas.
After a landing was effected in Coral Bay, a
131
THE VIRGIN ISLANDS
guerilla warfare was begun, for the negro forces,
abandoning the fort and splitting up into separate
bands, were pursued in all directions. So desperate
had the situation of the revolting slaves become
that some of them were forced to arm themselves
with bows and arrows, owing to the lack of gun-
powder.
It was not long before the pursuers were
successful in their grim task. Numerous small
bands of slaves were overtaken and killed after
offering an unsuccessful resistance. Finally, on
May 24, a small band of some twenty-four negroes
was found dead in the jungle. Evidently the men
had committed suicide when they found that their
last hope of escape was gone and that the liberty
for which they longed was forever out of their
reach. It was then thought that all revolting
negroes had been accounted for.
Twenty-seven captured slaves who had taken
part in the revolution were summarily executed as
a warning to possible future wrong-doers. |
About two months after the departure of the
French it was reported that a party of fourteen
slaves were still at liberty. These also soon gave
themselves up, relying on the promise of uncondi-
132
THE ROMANTIC STORY OF ST. JOHN
tional pardon. This promise was not kept, how-
ever, and they were all put to death.
Of the ninety-two plantations on the island
forty-eight had been damaged by the rebels, some -
of these having been totally destroyed. But
another sad consequence of the affair was a quarrel
between the planters and the Danish West India
Company. The planters claimed that the original
insurrection had been started on the Caroline
Estate of the Company, by laborers belonging to
the company. They also said that the fort had
been left in an insecure condition and that it was
not properly garrisoned, so that it had been easily
surprised. For these reasons the planters refused
to pay one-third of the expenses incurred in quel-
ling the rebellion which the St. Thomas authorities
wished to charge up to them.
While the rebellion was the cause of a great
deal of loss to the planters, some of whom were
forced to leave the island and settle on Tortola in
order to escape their debts, St. John must have
speedily recovered its prosperity. At any rate,
records show that in 1789 the island had a popula-
tion of 2883, of whom 167 were white, while 16
were free negroes and 2200 were slaves.
138
CHAPTER VII
AROUND ST. JOHN’S INDENTED COAST LINE
THE PHYSICAL FEATURES OF ST. JOHN—MARKETING BY
SAILBOAT—THE NAMING OF K. C. BAY—THE MISTAKE OF
THE CORAL BAY BOOMERS—AN ATTRACTIVE CLIMATE—
AN ISLAND WHOSE PROSPEROUS DAYS ARE IN THE FUTURE
T. JOHN lies in latitude 18 degrees, 20
minutes N. and. longitude 64 degrees, 45
minutes W., and it is but three miles from
the extreme western point of the island to the
extreme. eastern point of St. Thomas. Numerous
cays lie between St. John and St. Thomas, but —
with the exception of Lovango Cay and Thatch
Cay these are uninhabited.
Strong currents set between the straits that
divide the islands and the smaller cays, and navi-
gation for large vessels is dangerous in the extreme
unless a local pilot is on board to inform the com-
mander as to the way in which the variable currents
set at different times.
St. John, unlike St. Thomas, is not surrounded
by cays of any size. It approaches the British
territory closely in the strait named The Narrows,
where but one mile divides the United States
134
mod
ST. JOHN’S INDENTED COAST LINE
island of St. John from the British Thatch Island.
St. John is nine miles long, while its breadth
is irregular; at the widest point it is five miles
across. The area is 19.77 square miles, or nearly
12,700 acres, of which not over 400 acres are under
cultivation. If the baytree groves are included,
the total cultivated area might amount to about
1600 acres.
The island consists of a series of mountain
peaks, which lie in no particular order; the entire
island is made up of hills and valleys, with almost
no level land. The only regular mountain range
runs along the north coast, but this is not continu-
ous and cannot rightly be named a range. The
highest elevation is Camel Mountain, about 1800
feet high. The next highest, Bourdeaux Mountain,
is 1270 feet high.
There are a number of small streams which
empty on the south side into the sea, so that St.
John is far better watered than the other islands
of the group. While these streams are of no great
size, they are sufficient to insure a supply of water
at alltimes. A multitude of springs help to promise
success to future agricultural efforts.
The island is in large part of the same geological
135
THE VIRGIN ISLANDS
formation as St. Thomas, though a larger quantity
of coraline limestone is found here. Copper- and
iron-bearing rocks also are said to exist, and the
presence of greenish and reddish stones at Reef
Bay, in which copper can be detected, seem to
bear out this statement. Yet it is not thought
that the ores contain a sufficient quantity of metal
to make the working of the deposits profitable.
The land of the island is far more fertile than that
of St. Thomas and the soil covering the rocks is
found in far thicker layers.
No ships called at St. John, with the exception
of an occasional schooner which puts into Coral
Bay to load cattle for the neighboring islands, and
the only regular communication with St. Thomas
consists of the bi-weekly trips of a small sloop
which carries the mail from one island to the other.
All inhabitants of any consequence own their little
sailing boats which they use not only for fishing
but also for the transportation of their humble
products to the St. Thomas markets. |
The bays and inlets of St. John are not quite
as numerous as those of St. Thomas, there being
thirty-one on the former island and forty-five on
the latter. Yet the entire island of St. John has
136
ME,
a
¥
ch
.
wy
i
at
1
|.
{imo
—_wt —
a al
‘"y
372
iT
tip
, t
>
m
an
ds
\s
*
wm
Mo)
fy
uy
I
hy
ati
ae
-~
-
‘>
ae
_
RUINS OF K. C. BAY SUGAR ESTATE, ST. JOHN
Hy
a
wer
*
——
ia
h
w
~"
]
7,
nt. uf
-— oH
onde
—— ee
—
a
Pro EX Ss
tL
as
hed
Fy Anon, owen ny
co
Pt
—_~
ry
cn
at
mh
2
‘-
~
FORT FREDERIKSTED, ST. CROIX
Someysrg oF (GENE) SOUOL
SOVANE 40 INSRWILLAY NVIAVUON HIIM ‘NIVINNON XOVECHNOd WOUL ‘ZVA TVHOO
ST. JOHN’S INDENTED COAST LINE
an indented shore line. Beginning on the west
coast one finds Cruz Bay, where is one of the two
fairly large settlements. This bay has for the last
hundred years been the site of the government
offices and the residence of the local official in
charge of the island. A large building which was
fort, jail, court house and residence of the police-
master in one, testifies to the former importance
of what is now an almost deserted island.
To the north of Cruz Bay, one finds K. C. Bay,
where the large ruins of Duerloo’s estate call to
mind the heroic defense of the settlers against the
revolting slaves in 1733. The origin of the name
“XK. C. Bay” is curious. In the days of the first
colonization a Hollander who started a plantation
on the north coast of the island found a large cin-
namon tree on the shores of the bay included in
his land grant. He named his property ‘Caneel-
boom,” or Cinnamon Tree. In later years he
owned another estate which he named “Klein
Caneelboom,” or Little Cinnamon Tree. This
name proved too much for the linguistic attain-
ments of the other settlers, and in the course of
time the abbreviation. K. C. Bay found popular
acceptance.
137
THE VIRGIN ISLANDS
After beautiful K. C. Bay one comes to Dennis
Bay. The next bay to the north is Cinnamon Bay,
and Maho Bay comes next. Finally, Francis Bay
lies to the west of Mary’s Point. On the other
side of the point, still on the north coast, is found
Leinster Bay, the estate house of which atone
time boasted the presence of the one Masonic
Lodge on the island. The entire upper part of
this “great house” which was situated on a hill
overlooking the bay, was demolished by the hur-
ricane of October, 1916, and the majority of the
owner’s effects were blown down the hill into the
sea. Brown’s Bay and Mennebeck Bay are also
found on the north coast toward the eastern part
of the island.
On the extreme eastern peninsula is found
Privateer Bay, named after the sea rovers who
used to put in here to careen their ships. Reports
are current in the East End settlement—the second
of the two most important settlements of St. John
—that there is pirates’ gold in the sands surround-
ing this bay, and many a futile search has been
made for this.
Then comes Coral Bay. Extending inland from
Red Point on the east to Ram’s Head on the west,
138
ST. JOHN’S INDENTED COAST LINE
this bay has numerous inlets, of which Hansen
Bay, Watercreek Bay, Hurricane Hole and Coral
Harbor Bay are the most important. Coral Bay
is by far the best harbor in the Lesser Antilles,
and even boasts of many advantages which surpass
those of the wonderful bay of St. Thomas.. It is
less exposed to the south and is absolutely pro-
tected from all other points of the compass, so
that, in case of a hurricane, ships lying in the bay
would have but to shift their anchorage to any
one of the deep indentations of Hurricane Hole in
order to be able to ride out the storm in perfect
safety. The shores of the bay are steep, and vessels
of large draught can come quite close to the shore.
The numerous peninsulas serve admirably for
the erection of warehouses and piers. Of late years
a number of St. Thomians, hearing rumors of the
possible acquisition of the islands by the United
States, bought up several of the abandoned estates
lying upon the bay. Their idea was that the naval
authorities might decide to use Coral Bay for a
base instead of the harbor of Charlotte-Amalia.
A little reflection on the part of the speculators
might have conviriced them of the impracticability
of this idea, for the mountains of the neighboring
139
THE VIRGIN ISLANDS
island of Tortola completely overlook the bay and
are but four miles removed from the inlets, as the
crow flies. It would, of course, not be wise to
build a naval station on the shores of a bay that
could be controlled completely by an eminence on
an island belonging to another nation, upon which
the mounting of guns of heavy calibre would be
an easy matter. The harbor of St. Thomas does
not have a like drawback.
It is not conceivable that Coral Harbor will
ever be able to supplant the harbor of Charlotte-
Amalia even in commercial importance, since
steamers would not here find the facilities for
loading and unloading their cargo and for filling
their bunkers with coal which they at present have
on St. Thomas.
The south coast of the island is precipitous and
has but few bays that are easy of approach. The
promontory of Ram’s Head, which forms the west-
ern boundary of Coral Bay, is usually given a
wide berth by local sailors; the seas run high in
this neighborhood, and the cliff-like rocks make
landing an impossibility.
. After passing this dangerous spot, one comes
to Lamesure Bay and then to Reef Bay, a reef-
140
ST. JOHN’S INDENTED COAST LINE
girdled inlet formerly of importance as a sugar
shipping center. Continuing to the westward,
Fish Bay and Rendezvous Bay are found, the
latter so named because it was the favorite meeting
place for certain privateers who assembled here to
prepare for their piratical raids upon the St.
Thomas shipping. The last bay, on the southwest
coast, is Great Cruz Bay.
No statistics are available as to the climate of
St. John. In general, it can safely be said that
the average temperature here is fully five degrees
lower than on St. Thomas, even on the areas lying
at sea level. A stay at Cruz Bay or on the north
coast will speedily convince the traveler that he
must sleep under a blanket, and if he spends a
night in the mountains he will find the air quite
bracing.
The rainfall has never been systematically
measured, but it is undoubtedly far larger here
than on any other island of the group. In all
probability this is due to the forests which still
cover the hilltops.
This island also lies in the hurricane belt, and
it did not escape from damage during the disaster
of October, 1916. In fact, the storm was more
. 141
THE VIRGIN ISLANDS
destructive here than on St. Thomas, although—
owing to the comparatively few settlers on St. John
—the material damage was not great. The Mora-
vian missionary station and settlement of Emmaus,
on the shores of Coral Bay, was among the worst
sufferers and the church, living house and school-
house were totally wrecked. Practically all the
lime and coconut trees were destroyed and the
baytrees were stripped of their leaves and badly
damaged. The forests were devastated and the
ruins of many an old and forgotten plantation-
house, which had been hidden by the jungle, came
to light with the removal of the larger trees.
No snakes or poisonous insects other than the
usual centipedes and scorpions are found on the
island. Mosquitoes are few, but sand-flies generally
herald the approach of a coming rain by their
vicious bites. In this respect the island is not so
different from the other Antilles, where some kind
of similar affliction is always found, reminding
the visitor that even the happy existence of the
tropics has a few drawbacks.
It is needless to speak of the sanitary conditions
of the island. Since there are no settlements of
any size, epidemics do not take place and malarial
142
ST. JOHN’S INDENTED COAST LINE
fevers are unknown. The natives sometimes suffer
from fevers which are attributed to malaria, but
an investigation will show that these were brought
on by exposure and carelessness. During the last
two years of the Danish rule no physician was
stationed on the island. A St. Thomian doctor
came here every month or two for a short visit,
staying just long enough to relieve the ailments of
the few patients to be found.
CHAPTER VIII
THE CINDERELLA OF THE VIRGIN ISLANDS
REMINDERS OF FORMER RICHES—COMMERCIAL AND AGRI-
CULTURAL POSSIBILITIES—THE MAKING OF BAY RUM—
CATTLE RAISING AND FISHING—THE STORY OF THE PETRO-
GLYPHS—SCENERY AND RUINS TO DELIGHT THE VISITOR
—THE CROSS AT REEF BAY—LEGENDS OF SLAVERY DAYS—
TREASURES OF OLD FURNITURE—THE POSSIBILITIES OF
ST. JOHN
T. JOHN has a population of not over nine
S hundred. Possibly the number is even
smaller, no census having been taken for
a considerable period. Of this population fully
ninety-nine per cent. are colored.
Like the St. Thomas negro, the St. John negro
is noted for his politeness. Added to this virtue
is friendliness toward strangers. The negroes are
very accommodating, without a thought of recom-
pense for their services, as many a visitor has
learned during a stay on the island. For instance,
should one get lost on one of the mountain trails
he would need only to tell of his predicament to
the first native he meets. At once the native would
accompany the stranger and show him the right
road. He will expect no reward, nor will he think
144
CINDERELLA OF THE VIRGIN ISLANDS
of the possibility of reward, even though he be
suffering from the pangs of hunger and though he
may have gone far out of his way to be of service.
There is much misery and want on the island.
This is due to the lack of work and the very small
wages which the planters—who themselves are
forced to lead a hand-to-mouth existence—are
able to pay. Unlike a St. Thomian, a native of
St. John is too fond of his little island to wish
to seek employment elsewhere. He may occa-
sionally sign on as a sailor on some local vessel,
but the ties which bind him to his own island are
too close to allow him to remain content with a
prolonged absence. He is ready to eke out an
existence on the wages of whatever work he can
obtain here, rather than try for higher wages
elsewhere.
The inhabitants make their living principally
by the collecting and selling of the bayleaves to
the owners of the stills which manufacture the
essential oil of bay rum. They are paid eight
cents for a bag of leaves weighing sixty-five to
seventy pounds. This opportunity is presented
only during certain seasons. The natives are also
experts at the building of small sailing boats; poor
10 145
THE VIRGIN ISLANDS
indeed is the man who does not own a small craft
of some kind with which he can go out and obtain
his supply of sea food.
The two principal villages of the island are
at Cruz Bay, where perhaps a hundred and fifty
natives reside, and at East End, where there are
not more than a hundred. Still another settle-
ment is the Moravian station of Emmaus in the
neighborhood of which about twelve families, con-
sisting of some sixty persons, have settled. These
three villages have schools with a fairly good
attendance. In recent years the Moravian mis-
sionaries have made attempts to teach the chil-
dren. and the women to make baskets of a wiry
kind of grass that grows here in abundance. It
is quite possible that ultimately the sale of these
baskets to visiting tourists on St. Thomas may
become the means of providing many a St. John
family with pin-money. There is no reason why
brooms should not be made of this same grass,
for it is well adapted to the purpose. The scarcity
of broom corn in the United States and the high
price of labor there would help in the development
of a profitable industry.
The ruins of sugar estates everywhere convince
146
CINDERELLA OF THE VIRGIN ISLANDS
one of the former importance of this island and
of the riches that are lying idle in its fertile fields.
Of late a number of planters have made attempts
to raise on these abandoned estates lime trees,
from whose fruits the citric acid and the lime juice
of commerce are manufactured. With slight in-
vestment this venture should become profitable.
Machinery could be installed to crush the fruit,
and the old sugar kettles could be employed to
evaporate the critic acid from the juice.
Yet another industry of the island is the
manufacture of charcoal, which commands a ready
market on St. Thomas. Practically all cooking in
the West Indies is done over charcoal stoves, for
charcoal is always available on the wooded islands
and this fuel does not heat up the kitchen as would
a coal-burning range. There is a great deal of
timber on the abandoned estates of St. John, so
the inhabitants are never at a loss for wood which
can be manufactured into charcoal. The smoke
arising from the charcoal pits is a familiar feature
of the landscape.
The commercial and agricultural possibilities
of St. John are great. In the first place, the bay-
tree (Pimenta acris) flourishes on the little island.
147
THE VIRGIN ISLANDS
It has been found by actual experience that this
bay tree is somewhat erratic and is most particular
as to its habitat. Attempts have been made to
grow it on various islands, and practically all
attempts were failures. Even on St. John, small
as it is, it seems that the trees do well only in
certain parts and are unable to gain a foothold in
other parts. Why this is so has never been satis-
factorily explained. But even with this drawback
there are to-day many regions of St. John where
an extensive cultivation of the baytree would be
highly profitable. The trees are not regularly
planted or set out at the present time, and prop-
agation is entirely due to natural agents, such
as the birds and the winds, which scatter the
seeds.
The leaves of the baytree are gathered by
breaking small twigs from the tree and afterwards
separating them from these twigs. Instead of
harming the tree, this breaking off of the smaller
branches seems to improve it; several branches
will sprout from the break made by the removal of
a single branch. The leaves are then distilled in
copper stills of the usual type. This distillation
results in the collecting of the essential oil, the
148
v7
a
hi
=
\ r=
JN
7)
Se |
~~
a
oes
v%
’
{
ws
Oe ep
i oy
7
}
—---- Jd
=
es
—
—s
oe
a. +
a
a
<>
—
~~
Py
~—<"
=
3
—
EAST END, ST. JOHN
._
\«
%
A
=
‘e 4
a
.
Tt, |
Lae
ae
yi
op ok
~*
i~e
bane
a
Ae
_
y-
oot:
r\
~et
* it
On
fie)
~
a
Pa
-_-
BAY-OIL STILL, ST. JOUN
CINDERELLA OF THE VIRGIN ISLANDS
bay-oil, which is contained in the minute cells of
the leaves. The bay-oil is sent to St. Thomas and
is there mixed with white rum or alcohol in the
ratio of about one quart of oil to five hundred
quarts of rum, the resulting product being the
bay-rum of commerce. If cheap alcohol or rum
is used the product does not have the delicate
odor which is found when better grades are em-
ployed. The essential oil, which is worth from
five to seven dollars per quart, has a strong acrid
odor.
Occasionally bay-rum is made by distilling the
bay leaves directly in the rum, but this method is
slower land far more expensive. It has practically
been discontinued, although bay-rum made in this
manner is superior in quality and commands a
higher price. ;
The bay industry, therefore, presents one of the
possibilities of St. John. While various proprietors
are at present engaged in the cultivation of the
trees and the distilling of the oil, there can be no
doubt that development of this industry would
result in material benefit, especially if a more
modern type of still for the collection of the oil
were employed.
149
THE VIRGIN ISLANDS
Again, St. John offers great possibilities as a
cattle raising center. While the ground is gener-
ally steep and hilly, the slopes are covered with
excellent grass of all varieties and offer feeding
grounds for thousands of herds of cattle. At the
present time cattle raising is neglected. by the
majority of landowners, there being but two real
stock farms on the island, with a total of about
six hundred head of cattle. Because of the in-
creased population that will come to the neighbor-
ing island of St. Thomas through the prospective
establishment of a naval station there, and because
of the fact that no duty would have to be paid on
cattle exported to Porto Rico since the twe islands
are under the same government, a ready market
would be found for all cattle raised on St. John.
There would be no rivalry in cattle production on
the other islands of the group, for St. Thomas
cannot compare with St. John for pasturage or
for water supply and practically all of St. Croix
is given up to sugar cultivation.
The water surrounding the numerous small cays
that encircle St. John literally swarms with fish of
all species. Perhaps no better fishing grounds can
be found in the Antilles than those between St.
150
CINDERELLA OF THE VIRGIN ISLANDS
John and the cays to the westward—Congo Cay,
Lovango Cay, Mingo Cay, and Grass Cay. Yet
there is always an unsatisfied demand for fresh
fish in Charlotte-Amalia, and this demand must
increase in the future. What then could be a more
profitable investment than asuitable fishing boat
with a motor auxiliary? Itcan find asafe harbor
in any one of the numerous bays of St. John and,
with this island as a center, can fish the surround-
ing waters and carry the catch to the St. Thomas
market.
From the point of view of a tourist anxious to
try his piscatorial luck, a visit to the little cays
between the two larger islands is well worth while.
Lovango Cay is inhabited by a Danish fisherman
who rents the little island from the government
and who would be ready to show the visitor the
best location for fishing. By either trolling or rod
fishing success is certain as soon as the bait has
been in the water for the briefest possible time.
No better place for rod fishing can be found
than on Congo Cay, which is located due north of
Lovango Cay and faces the wide Atlantic. A
visit to this rocky island is an event. It consists
of nothing but a collection of boulders which give
161
THE VIRGIN ISLANDS
the impression that they must. have been piled
one on top of the other by some giant who wished
to amuse himself. Congo Cay presents a forbid-
ding appearance. Vegetation is noticeable by its
absence. The island resembles the upstanding fin
of a shark. But one landing place is found here,
and that is a mere ledge about two feet above
water level and not more than six feet wide and
twelve feet long. The visitor who is desirous of
fishing here must be quick of eye and nimble of
foot as he takes a hurried jump out of the rowboat
which carries him to his destination. Should a
heavy sea be running it would be inadvisable to
attempt to make the landing, for not only would
there be danger of smashing the boat on the rocks,
but, even if a landing is made, it might prove
impossible to embark for the return journey.
The best rod fishing is to be had on the extreme
eastern point of Congo Cay. Fish of all varieties
seem to congregate directly under the rocks, which
are some twenty feet above sea level, and to show
an eager desire to be caught. |
The visitor is reminded here also of the abo-
rigines of St. Thomas in pre-Columbian times, who
must have come here for the fishing, for in the rocks
152
CINDERELLA OF THE VIRGIN ISLANDS
there are a number of small cavities, perfectly
rounded, in which the Indians evidently pounded
the salt used to preserve the fish they caught.
There is evidence that, while not engaged in fish-
ing, they were employed in carving a series of
apparently meaningless figures upon a large, flat
boulder on the eastern extremity of the cay.
Carvings of this character are named pictographs,
or petroglyphs.
Petroglyph!” Unless ane should happen to
be a professional archeologist, he may have to
consult a dictionary to find out the meaning of
this word. And yet it is rather simple: Petro
means stone, and glyph means a sign, so that the
complete word merely means a sign carved on
stone. So there you are, and the next time that a
"passing gypsy carves a cabalistic sign upon the
stone pillars of your front entrance, signifying
that you keep a savage dog on your estate, and
that your property had best be left unvisited,
remark it well, for you will then actually be the
proud possessor of a bona fide petroglyph.
And so the Indians of the Antilles, in the days
before the coming of the Spanish conquistadors,
had an amusing habit of carving signs upon rocks
153
THE VIRGIN ISLANDS
in certain of the islands inhabited by them. This
habit not only provided the carver with the whole-
some satisfaction that accompanies honest toil, but
it has since provided countless archeologists and
amateur archeologists with the joy of attempting
to decipher the meaning of the carvings. This is
especially true in the case of amateur archeolo-
gists, who see the most wonderful significance in
the humblest carving, so that the Simon-pure
archeologist not only has the original pleasure of
trying to unravel the mystery of the petroglyph,
but is permitted the additional joy of scoffing at .
the attempts of the amateur. Thus the circle is
completed, and the shade of the Indian chuckles
with glee at the problems bestowed by him upon
those who have come after him.
Chalk is the principal weapon of the petro-
glyph hunter and is used by him to make the
marking of the carvings more distinct, so that
they will show up more clearly in the photographs.
There is nothing to prevent an enthusiast from
adding a carving or two of his own, not necessarily
by hewing grooves in the living rock, but by the
more simple and direct method of adding with
chalk such lines as his fancy dictates. But that,
of course, is another story.
154
CINDERELLA OF THE VIRGIN ISLANDS
Petroglyphs are to be found on many of the
islands of the West Indies. In fact, they are
found from the northern limits of North America
to the southernmost point of South America.
Naturally, many of them have become obliterated
by the action of the weather on the rocks. In
addition to this, numerous rock carvings must still
be hidden by the undergrowth of the primeval —
forests, or be in such inaccessible places that their
very existence is unsuspected. When they are
found in the open, the rocks with carvings upon
them are generally near running water.
It is one of the favorite theories of the local
historians of the West Indies that the presence of
these petroglyphs indicates the existence of a pre-
Columbian place of worship. Using this theory
as a base, the local authors as a rule begin to write
of “Carib sacrifices,” ‘“‘Carib orgies,” and what
not, and make good copy out of the bloodcurdling
yells of the unhappy victims of this fierce warrior
tribe. But probably posterity will never know the
true significance of these rock carvings, nor will
it ever understand the vagaries of the Indian mind
which made them.
The carvings on Congo Cay are on the rock at
155
THE VIRGIN ISLANDS
the extreme eastern part of the island. The rock
lies almost horizontally and faces, to the eastward,
a small island named Caravel Rock. There is a
large cavity in the center of this rock, and one
visitor suggested that this cavity was artificial and
might have been used to store the blood of the
victims of the Carib sacrifices. But here is another
chance to see what a difference there is between
cold facts and charming theories. In the first
place, no proof ever has been brought forward
that the islands of St. John and St. Thomas
were inhabited by Caribs. In the second place
Congo Cay, bleak, barren, hard to land on,
and .with no place upon which to hold sacri-
ficial ceremonies, would be too exposed to the
neighboring islands to allow one to suppose that
@ marauding tribe of piratical Caribs would have
selected this place for the cannibal feasts. Third,
the cavity in the rock was undoubtedly caused by
the decomposition of the stone, and there are sev-
eral rocks on Congo Cay that have cavities of this
order. It is true that the opening of the cavity is
somewhat smaller than the area of the lower sur-
face of the hole, but one can readily see that the
cavity would fill up with sea water whenever the
156
err
°
ae,
¢,
e-*
—~
oo
SNe
a
~~
~¥
*
oF
“
wee
he
a
va
m<
—s
HOSPITABLE CONGO CAY, ST. JOHN
a =
os
ae
SS
oe
-_
=
a
5,
al
a
=
—t =
a
oo
he
—-
ba |
ee - |
-*a
to
ge
Se
=~
———
o
s]
~,
ae
= ay
—_—
2
no
— et
—~
et
oem a
a
=
« -
~<_
i
—_-—¥
€
—
%
SF? = « st
‘Ae
—
_
>»
5 >
“2
ad
bane}
a
—
"rl
Say
iz
ST ea
=
a
me
,*
08 nae
Be
THE ONLY LANDING-PLACE ON
CONGO CAY
<%
-
.
is
t-
'
o*
——
—
~~
PRIVATEER BAY, 8ST. JOHN
~
o
Th
s
— re’
sd
Z
.
—
ft
ce ne
-~
wy
——
Ae
ae
ae,
~~
yz
Ses
7
te
ae
x.
BUILDINGS ‘ON CAROLINE EST
‘ATE, AND BAY-OIL STILL, 8ST. JOHN
_ ae ee eo
_CINDERELLA OF THE VIRGIN ISLANDS
waves broke over Congo Cay during stormy
weather and that this water would attack the
sides of the cavity and make it-larger without
necessarily enlarging the mouth.
But to return to the mainland and to the sub-
ject of sugar, St. John is not well adapted to the
cultivation of cane and the manufacture of sugar,
under modern conditions. Because of the present
cost of labor this island, with its steep roads and
hills, could not compete with sugar plantations on
islands where flat areas make the gathering of the
cane an insignificant item of expense. Even in
the days of long ago the collecting of the sugar
cane at the mill was done with a considerable
expenditure of trouble and labor. Wooden troughs
led down the incline to the level roads, and the
cane was shot down these inclines and loaded on
wagons when it reached the road. Many stories
have been told of slaves who were decapitated or
who lost a leg or an arm when they were struck
by a heavy piece of sugar cane which escaped from
the trough and came hurtling with terrific force
through the air. On some estates it was found
necessary to arrange some sort of cable tramway
to convey the cane to the mill. On the summit of
. 157
err
THE VIRGIN ISLANDS
some of the hills immense lignum-vite posts are
still found to which these cables were attached.
But if the production of sugar would not be
profitable, undoubtedly truck farming would am-
ply reward one who undertakes it on a large scale
and the raising in the West Indies of all sorts of
vegetables is a possibility which is frequently and
strangely overlooked. The consumption of canned
vegetables by the well-to-do in these regions is
quite large, and the small quantities of fresh vege-
tables that are raised are in demand at good prices.
It is a common mistake to suppose that the tropics
are not suited to the production of garden truck.
As a matter of fact, tomatoes, lettuce, beans,
melons, et cetera, not only thrive when well
watered, but bear more abundantly than in north-
ern climates. The raising of these vegetables on
St. John would give employment to many, and a
profitable market in St. Thomas would be assured.
Another possibility is the erection of tourist
hotels on St. John. The acquisition of the island
by the United States should make these popular
with the tourist. St. John should be even more
popular than St. Thomas, for while St. Thomas is
attractive because it has a busier outlook on ac-
158
CINDERELLA OF THE VIRGIN ISLANDS
count of the many ships that enter its wonderful
harbor, and because of its magnificent scenery,
St. John excels in scenery, and scenery attracts
the tourist. Climb any hilltop in St. John and
look north, east, south or west, and unrivaled
views delight the eye. The surrounding islands of
vivid green serve only to make more pronounced
the contrast between the pale blue sky and the
dark blue sea. Surely no other island in the
Antilles offers views that can compare with this in
natural beauty.
But St. John has other attractions for the tour-
ist than its scenery. If one is searching for the
picturesque, it may be found in abundant measure
in the ruins of the old plantation buildings whose
walls and quaint staircases still exist in the tropical
undergrowth. What can be more interesting than
the exploration of an old mill with kettles for the
boiling of syrup still intact, and of the remains of .
a “great house” with its imposing avenue and slave
quarters and kitchens nearby? Is the visitor in-
terested in boating, bathing, hunting, or riding?
The forty odd bays of the island will repay a sys-
tematic exploration with a small yacht, and will
astound one with the variety of their scenery.
159
_ THE VIRGIN ISLANDS
Sea bathing here is equal to any in the West Indies
and excels that at many of the resorts that are
famed for this attraction. Then pigeons and doves
are found at all seasons; these make excellent
shooting and good eating.
There is no road on St. John that is more than
a bridle path; but also let it be said that there is
no road that does not have features to delight the
visitor. The road most commonly used by the
inhabitants leads from Cruz Bay through the
center of the island to Emmaus, and from there
to the East End settlement. Directly after leav-
ing the Cruz Bay landing one ascends the hill,
passing, in turn, Herman Farm with its extensive
ruins, and Adrian, another forgotten plantation
which is almost entirely obliterated by the jungle.
At Esperance a road branches off to the south coast
and to Reef Bay. This branch road leads over the
summit of Camel Mountain, the highest peak on
the island, and then dips toward the sea at a
precipitous angle.
Some half mile inland from the shores of Reef
Bay one obtains a distant glimpse of the Reef Bay
waterfall. A searching glance is necessary, as it
is hard to make out the thin thread of water that
160
CINDERELLA OF THE VIRGIN ISLANDS
comes tumbling from the heights above. The
rocks back of the waterfall are plainly to be seen,
however. It is said that this waterfall is never
dry. Occasionally it becomes so small as to be
almost negligible, but it never seems entirely to
vanish. One is privileged to surmise, therefore,
that in pre-Columbian days, when the woods of
the island were still intact and fulfilled their pur-
pose in drawing water from the clouds, the volume
of water passing over the rocks must have been
considerably larger.
There are in reality two falls, but the higher
fall is difficult of access. The lower fall is about
forty-five feet high. As the crow flies, it is not
over one and a quarter miles from the sea and
not more than half a mile from the road. In order
to visit it, it is necessary to follow a dried-up
watercourse, and then cut a way through a some-
what dense thicket. Before the hurricane of
October, 1916, there was a small footpath follow-
ing this water course, and the ascent to the falls
was far easier than it is to-day.
The lower fall empties itself into a pool some
five feet deep and about twelve feet in diameter.
This pool empties its contents into a second pool
11 161
THE VIRGIN ISLANDS
about seven feet lower than the first. The second
pool, in which the water is quite tranquil, is about
six and one-half feet deep, fourteen feet wide and
nine feet broad, and makes an excellent bathing
place. The water, filtered during its long passage
through the hills, is excellently adapted for drink-
ing purposes, and it is possible that the Indians
inhabiting the south coast of St. John must have
come here for their supply of drinking water.
Around this pool, in which bathing is a pleas-
ure—a cold pleasure—one finds huge boulders
upon which are more of the aboriginal carvings
known as petroglyphs.
There really are three sets of rock carvings on
the stones surrounding the pool, and it is impos-
sible to get all three sets in one picture. The most
elaborate set is found just above the edge of the
pool and the Indians seem to have designed the
carvings so that their reflection would show clearly
in the water. A few of the figures seem to depict
a very crudely drawn human face, consisting of a
circle for the face, with smaller circles or just
dots for the eyes, and a line for the mouth. In
one or two instances some extra lines below the
large circle may represent arms and legs. But the
162
CINDERELLA OF THE VIRGIN ISLANDS
reader is at liberty to scoff at this suggestion.
The largest figure of all, in appearance somewhat
like a figure eight, or like a sand glass, is perhaps
the most inexplicable.
In order to give one some idea of these carv-
ings, it may be said that from the figure on the
extreme left side of the rock, just above the water
line, to the figure on the extreme right hand side,
just above the water line, is a distance of ten feet
four inches.
On the same large rock, a little to the left, but
at a much higher point above the pool, one can
find another series of petroglyphs even more enig-
matical than those just above the water level.
This group consists of six figures, two of which
represent somewhat simply designed human forms
—strongly reminiscent of the pictures chalked by
children on wooden fences—and two simple faces.
On the extreme western side of the pool is
another rock upon which are seen three more
carvings. This rock may well be named the
“Archeologist’s Delight.” No doubt every person
who ever has seen it, excepting of course the origi-
nal Indians, has evolved some deep theory regard-
ing the carvings on this boulder. Almost any
163
THE VIRGIN ISLANDS
meaning may be given to two of the three figures,
the one on the extreme left of the photograph and
the one directly above the carving that looks
exactly like a cross. It is therefore possible to
eliminate two carvings at the very start, which
is far more than would be done by seriously minded
amateur archeologists who would deem it their duty
to explain fully these two problematical carvings.
But there still remains the crosslike figure.
Can it be that the teachings of Christianity had
penetrated to the New World before the discovery
of St. John and the Virgin Island group in 1498?
This is to be doubted. Then were the Indians
converted to Christianity by the piously inclined
conquistadors? Considering that these same con-
quistadors were responsible for the total extermi-
nation of the Indian race some thirty years after
the discovery of the West Indies, this also is to be
doubted. Then why the cross? Perhaps the most
ingenious explanation is the one found in an early
history of the Danish West Indies in which the
author states that the Spanish monks saw the other
carvings on the rocks and deemed them to be the
work of the Devil. In order speedily to overcome
the evil influence, the earnest friars carved the
164
—
a
aan
*
~*
~
Aj
via
7
se at
23
‘v
* ~~
My
ji
a
"
a
—*
PETROGLYPHS ON CONGO CAY
Caravel Rock in Middle Ground
~
af
THE CAROLINE ESTATE HOUSE AND PASTURE, 8ST. JOHN
4e
i)
Po
wd
6
af.
*
—
a
as
—~
,, &
¢-?
=
.
7+ i
es
>,
arr
a
°
ant,
=?
Ae
&
we
ve
a
ute
ax
y
—_
eV
fy
“ae
“4
Par
Ya
Lie
4
&
i>
_/?-
aa
wat
\
oft
He
+
Mf
‘i
sie
4
apie
OB
P Dies
Ir
=
--
t\>
; eal
wht
}
_-
an
me
—
tna
s
2
S
oS es
)
o
‘e
“
—
=
AF
INDIAN PETROGLYPHS, BAY, 8ST. JOHN
CINDERELLA OF THE VIRGIN ISLANDS
sign of the cross on the rock, thereby neutralizing
all other influences.
But the carving of the cross appears to be of
the same age as the other figures on the same rock.
And the suggestion is made that the sign of the
cross has been found in many places to which it is
positively known that Christianity never pene-
trated. Yet the sign is there, and has been found
in many forms, perhaps one of the most common
of which is the swastika sign. This sign repre-
sents nothing more than the four cardinal points of
the compass, east, south, west and north, and by a
process of evolution first became a figure resembling
two interlaced S figures and finally a simple cross.
But when challenged on the subject, we must
withdraw this explanation of the cross figure at
Reef Bay. The carving representing the cross
stands seventeen inches high, and the length of
the cross arm is eleven inches.
It is time to turn from the mysterious petro-
glyphs and follow the south coast, by the Parforce
Estate, once the property of one of the richest
planters on the island. Rather than use ordinary
plaster for the finishing of his walls, this land-
owner had them decorated with ground rice mixed
165
\
THE VIRGIN ISLANDS
with some adhesive substance; he claimed that
this gave the walls a smoother appearance. He
lived to regret his extravagance, when the abolition
of slavery changed his former prosperous position
to one of dire poverty.
The road now mounts again, and after an ardu-
ous climb the traveler reaches the summit of Bor-
deaux Mountain, the second highest peak of St.
John. From here one seems almost able to touch
the crest of Sage Mountain on Tortola, so near
does this elevation appear to be in the bright
atmosphere of the tropics. The best view of Coral
Bay can be had from this peak, and the white
buildings of the Emmaus settlement form a promi-
nent feature of the landscape.
Descending toward the bay, the first estate
reached is the Caroline property, famous in the
annals of the slave insurrection. Here, it is said,
the murdered daughter of the St. John judge still
haunts the rooms of the “great house.”” Emmaus
is reached next and one had to admire the industry
of the Moravian Brethren who, in the eighteenth
century, despite opposition and poverty, were able
to erect the large buildings that were found here
previous to the hurricane of 1916.
166
CINDERELLA OF THE VIRGIN ISLANDS
A little further along, on the road which leads
to the East End settlement, the extreme eastern
inhabited point of the island, one passes the re-
mains of the fort whose garrison was massacred
in 1788. A cannon or two is still embedded on the
hillslope. Then the road continues along the south
coast, up hill and down dale, and one has every
opportunity of admiring the extensive inlets which
form part of Coral Bay, whenever the road rises
to any height above sea level. The pretentious
farm of Hermitage, with its numerous buildings,
is passed. This estate, like the Caroline Estate,
is devoted to stock raising. Finally, one gets to
the East End settlement, whose inhabitants live
their quiet lives far removed from the bustle of
the outside world.
The explorer must return by the same road
until he again reaches Hermitage. There he can
take a branch road leading to the north coast of
the island. The road to the westward along the
north coast offers even more scenic splendors than
does the south coast road, since the island of
Tortola presents a succession of views that delight
the eye.
The first estate one comes to on going west is
167
THE VIRGIN ISLANDS
Leinster Bay, where an excellent boarding house
for use by occasional visitors was once kept. The
storm of 1916 blew this house down. The wonder-
ful old mahogany furniture that was the envy of all
who came to stay here was scattered in all directions.
Near by are the remains of the building occu-
pied by the only Masonic Lodge on St. John.
One can almost picture the banquets held by the
Masons when they assembled here in the olden
days, when feasts were of first importance in the
life of the West Indian planters.
Annaberg, also called Brim Bay, is the next
estate. Report has it that when the slave revolt
of 1733 was being put down, three hundred of the
rebels were found upon a precipitous cliff that
can be seen on this estate and, rather than suffer
capture, dashed themselves on the rocks below.
While an act of this kind might actually have been
committed by one or two of the slaves, the story
can hardly be true of such a large number as
three hundred, for the entire number of the rebels
at large did not amount to this total. .
There is an excellent view from this road of
Mary’s Point, a square peninsula which reaches
out toward the British Thatch Island. The Nar-
168
CINDERELLA OF THE VIRGIN ISLANDS
rows between Thatch Island and the mainland of
St. John are only a mile wide. In former days
slaves who thought they might meet with kinder
treatment on Tortola than they had experienced
from their Danish owners, used to defy the numer-
ous sharks found in these waters and swim across
the strait. It must be remembered that slavery
was abolished on the British islands of the West
Indies in 1838 but that the institution continued
its existence on the Danish islands until 1848.
Thus if any slave held on St. John between these
dates managed to reach British territory, he
immediately became free, so long as he remained
there.
Even after the days of fleeing slaves there was
excitement in The Narrows. Smugglers did a
thriving trade across The Narrows, so the British
government was obliged to erect a custom house
and fort upon the isolated Thatch Island. These
have long since been abandoned.
After crossing the peninsula of Mary’s Point,
the wayfarer arrives at Maho Bay and afterwards
at America Hill. The estate house on this latter
property is a noticeable feature of the landscape,
for it is built upon the very summit of a hill which
169
THE VIRGIN ISLANDS
has the appearance of a sugar loaf. The hill is
some six hundred feet high, and the ascent to the
house must have furnished needed exercise to its
former owners.
Cinnamon Bay and Dennis Bay come next.
Both were in former days the sites of important
sugar factories. From here the way leads across
the island. At-K. C. Bay are the largest sugar
factory ruins on the island. Here also is a coconut
grove in which the damage done by the late hurri-
cane was tremendous. On the hilltop, before the -
beginning of the descent to Cruz Bay, may be
seen the almost obliterated remains of another
Danish fort, whose history no one seems to know.
To the tourist who is interested in old colonial
furniture, St. John offers interesting hunting
grounds. In the most ramshackle negro cabins
one is liable to run across the dilapidated remains
of the most wonderfully carved mahogany four
poster beds. These antiques may be marred by a
century of neglect, but the wonderfully skillful
cabinet makers of St. Thomas can easily restore
them to their former beauty. Not only bedsteads,
but sewing tables, claw-foot serving tables and
interesting looking chairs are scattered over the
island. These were probably given to the negro
170
hill
|
to th
tots
_*
Pek
——
_—~
=
mr
a
zie?
—=
aL
_=
=
—Y-
Lg
a
<4
a...
—
—"+
a
so
a.
<<
=
=
‘
-
dy
he
~e
—3
. a
so
~
i
5
amet»
me
WHARF AND OLD FORT, CORAL BAY, 8ST. JOHN
-
ge ies
ie
ee
=
HERMITAGE ESTATE, 8T. JOHN
CINDERELLA OF THE VIRGIN ISLANDS
laborers on the estates when the planters departed
on account of the waning of prosperity. The
visitor who picks up one or two of these pieces
will be able in future years to boast of them to
admiring friends. .
It will be seen, therefore, that St. John, the
Cinderella of the Virgin Islands, has her charms
and that the exploitation of the island would well
repay the original outlay. A suitable tourist
hotel, built to entertain the traveler who is content
with what the country offers and does not insist
upon imported food, would be well patronized.
Let a few young and energetic men, accustomed
to the handling of West Indian laborers, . start
produce farms on the rich soil of St. John and they
would be certain of large returns. Let some
capitalist stock a farm with a large number of
cattle of a breed that will thrive in this climate,
and he would be sure of a profitable investment.
Let the bay tree industry be encouraged by having
expert men advise the planters as to the best
methods of increasing the groves.
When all this is done, it will be found that
St. John, now only a name and a small speck on
the map, will become as important as its more
prosperous sisters to the west and south.
CHAPTER IX
THE CHECKERED HISTORY OF ST. CROIX
WHY THE TONGUES OF SIR WALTER RALEIGH’S MEN BECAME
“BIGGE”—A SUBTLE METHOD OF POISONING—A JOINT
OCCUPATION THAT LED TO MURDER—A STARTLING SUC-
CESSION OF OWNERS, PLOTS AND COUNTERPLOTS—A
BLUFF THAT SUCCEEDED—A VISITOR WHO DIED OF MORTI-
FICATION—A CONFLAGRATION THAT PROMOTED HEALTH
—AN ABANDONED ISLAND RESCUED BY DENMARK—A
SYMBOLIC TRANSFER OF TITLES—OUT OF THE CLUTCHES
OF AN EXPLOITING COMPANY.
O record has been discovered of a visit
| \ | to St. Croix between the time of its dis-
covery in 1498 and the day in 1587
when Sir Walter Raleigh touched here. There is,
however, assurance that the Indian inhabitants of
St. Croix made a few visits to Porto Rico during
this period and instilled a lively fear in the early
Spanish settlers of the latter island. It was the
practice of the St. Croix Indians to go to Porto
Rico to manufacture their sea-going canoes, as
the Porto Rico forests bore trees of greater size
than those of St. Croix. On one of these occasions
a Porto Rican chieftain demanded that seven of
the St. Croix cannibals remain on his island in
order to be kept as hostages in case of attack by
other Indians from the same island. When the
172
a
ely
mle}
iar
ala
(ee
ae
ag!
es
~— -- —- +
a
(
_ 9 2044 022 174 882
1
ss:
The borrower must return this item on or before
the last date stamped below. If another user
places a recall for this item, the borrower will
be notified of the need for an earlier return.
Non-receipt of overdue notices does not exempt
the borrower from overdue fines.
Harvard College Widener Library
Cambridge, MA 02138
617-495-2413
WIDENER |g
DE
i
WIRRNE™ 2
ORR
\
\
FEBO A, 2006 -.
A
Re
~~!
Please handle with care.
Thank you for helping to preserve
library collections at Harvard.
4 |
‘nt + the ede tade
rn d
we
-*
wee
des
=~ e
a=
--
Pry
a
q?
if